Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Adsl Nation XTE-2005

    This is a discussion on Adsl Nation XTE-2005 within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I've got a XTE-2005 faceplate on order which should be delivered around 25th May. When it comes to fitting ...

    1. #1
      nicke1's Avatar
      nicke1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Albans
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Adsl Nation XTE-2005

      Hi,

      I've got a XTE-2005 faceplate on order which should be delivered around 25th May.

      When it comes to fitting time do I need to check the connection of the wires coming from outside into the current Master Socket? Or can I assume this has been wired by BT optimally?

      Thanks
      Nick


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Adsl Nation XTE-2005

      Don't need to do anything with the wires coming from outside.

      The drop cable shouldn't be messed with.


      You just take off the existing faceplate on the NTE5 master socket & replace it with the filtered XTE-2005 faceplate, & reconnect your extensions (if any), using either the filtered or unfiltered IDC depending on what the extension will be used for.

    4. #3
      nicke1's Avatar
      nicke1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Albans
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adsl Nation XTE-2005

      I appreciate that the drop wire shouldn't be messed with but can I assume that the drop wire has been connected optimally and is not part of the cause of the noise on my line?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Adsl Nation XTE-2005

      Until you change the filter, you are not going to know.

      When I fitted mine, my speed doubled, so good luck!
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      nicke1's Avatar
      nicke1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Albans
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adsl Nation XTE-2005

      Sorry I don't think you get what I'm asking.

      I appreciate that a new faceplate may help (on order) BUT can I assume the wiring behind the faceplate is all ok or should I check it?

      Reason I'm asking is that there is no noise on the line I can hear. THe line comes straight into the house now into a Master Socket. From the test socket the max sync I can get is around 8500 with an attenuation of 36. I should get higher. My noise level can vary by around 3db a day.

      THe only physical things I can still address is wiring inside the master socket and the line from my house to the pole runs through some branches of a tree. The wire is coated but could the tree branches cause noise?

      My understanding was that the faceplate won't show a material improvement over the test socket.

    7. #6
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adsl Nation XTE-2005

      Quote Originally Posted by nicke1 View Post
      - - - - the line from my house to the pole runs through some branches of a tree. The wire is coated but could the tree branches cause noise? - - - - - -
      In my experience, cables passing through and touching trees is to be avoided. The constant motion of the branches soon wears away the cable casing and soon after that, the insulation. From that point on, anything can happen.

      JaX

    8. #7
      JaXanim's Avatar
      JaXanim is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: A Galaxy near you
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Adsl Nation XTE-2005

      Sorry, please ignore!
      JaX
      Last edited by JaXanim; 27-05-07 at 11:07 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION