Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Will installing NTE5 socket improve things?

This is a discussion on Will installing NTE5 socket improve things? within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi chaps, I have an old style BT master socket with a non hard-wired phone extension. My router is then ...

ANDREWGEORGE404 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Altrincham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Thanks

Will installing NTE5 socket improve things?

Hi chaps,
      I have an old style BT master socket with a non hard-wired phone extension. My router is then plugged into this via a microifilter. All I wanted to know is, will fitting an NTE5 master socket with faceplate improve my connection speeds? My line attenuation is absolutely rubbish (63.5), I think my local exchange is on Mars. I'm clutching at straws for more speed!!
      Thanks in advance.

2. Advertisement
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Thanks

Re: Will installing NTE5 socket improve things?

Hi Andrew,

I too had an old style Bt socket, and *might* have changed it to an NTE5 master socket - there were minimal improvements - really nothing major. Have you tried the other tips for speed - disconnecting all wires other than 2 & 5? - When on Virgin, just before migration, I disconnected wire 3 (and 4 i think) and my connection speed went from 1.5 meg up to 5.5 meg - unfortunately the Bras profile was still set at 1.5meg though! Thankfully now on Sky mid and sync at just under 8 meg!