Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 31

    The BT Old Socket

    This is a discussion on The BT Old Socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I got a BT socket that looks like a extension socket. Its the one without any test socket inside ...

    1. #1
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      The BT Old Socket

      Hi,
      I got a BT socket that looks like a extension socket. Its the one without any test socket inside it.
      I want to get the new socket that has a built in test socket to replace the old one.

      The person that installed my SKY TV said that I may need to replace it with the new socket as it may cause broadband interruptions. I thought he was just bluffing as he is a SKY engineer and NOT a BT engineer. Come to think of it I think he maybe right.

      So what I'm trying to say is how do I get one. I don't want to fit it myself in case I do something that I will regret.

      Please Help
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      I would personally reccomend checking for any hissing on the line, Then call BT Faults Management - 151, And report it with them, When/If an engineer calls, They may replace the old socket with an NTE5, They do this as standard, Just to bring as many lines onto this new system!

    4. #3
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      I sometimes do get a hiss, but it goes away.
      Also what do you mean by get the line into the new system
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      I mean the NTE5 System so people can hardwire extensions into it instead of using those old style reel ones.

    6. #5
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      My sister told me it was going to cost me a lot of money if I get BT to do it because when she got her new house she had no BT socket inside the house so she called them up and they put it in front of the door, as she was abroad. When she came back and told them that she wanted to remove it and put it in the sitting room which was only around 7 meters away. BT said to put a longer wire was going to cost her 137. RIDICULOUS. She got it for free as she said it was a health and safety matter and was really true as i once nearly tripped over her cord.

      So what should I say to BT. Should I just say that the socket is interfering with my broadband connection.

      As I said before I do not want to do it myself in case anything goes wrong, I'd see myself paying a lot of money to get it fixed
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      Not really just dont mention the Broadband problems, BT hate SKY!

      Just say that at time it hisses and fiddling with the wire going into it fixes it, This will be suspected that the cabling is loose and they should come out and fix it for free!

    8. #7
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      My sister was saying that I should say that it's interfearing with my Broadband, but I was going on that I should listen to what people say in this forum.

      So end of the day it was worth it joining SKYUSER

      You know what we should really be thanking NewsreadeR and Satdish, No seriously I mean it.
      Last edited by miahm2; 23-03-07 at 10:21 PM.
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      Only mention the broadband problems if you are with BT Broadband, As if you mention the broadband to the faults team, They will be reluctant to send someone out as ISPs should get the request sent via OpenReach, That way the ISP get billed, So BT make some money out of it!

      These are some possible steps you should take
      1) Say that from time to time it hisses and crackles and the line goes dead - Fiddling with the cable ENTERING the box fixes it - That will mean that BT will have to send someone out as you arent allowed to touch any of that wiring yourself

      2) Look around your local newspaper, There are usually EX-BT men&women who usually do it for a few quid and a cup of tea.

      3) Finally - If it does effect the Broadband side of things, Contact Tier2 who I believe have alot of contact with OpenReach and get them to sort BT sending someone out!

    10. #9
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      I dont mind calling BT up and saying that there is hissing sound on the line sometimes and gets fixed by adjusting the wire, the bit that goes into the box. Only thing is that not bothered calling SKY up. They just kind of waste my time, when i had problems with my connection speed. It took 15 days for tier 3 to contact me. I wasn't bothered to call SKY up again. WASTE OF TIME
      Last edited by miahm2; 23-03-07 at 10:32 PM.
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    11. #10
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      Just try ringing BT and see what happens?

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION