Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 31

    The BT Old Socket

    This is a discussion on The BT Old Socket within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yeah, Don't mind that. Have to wait for tomorrow to come only thing is that what if they don't buy ...

    1. #11
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      Yeah, Don't mind that. Have to wait for tomorrow to come only thing is that what if they don't buy it and do charge me a whopping amount of money.

      Will you pay for a small box to be replaced and do some wiring? Will U?
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      Honestly if you dont have any extensions on it, Its just a matter of hooking two wires into the socket slots wire-a and wire-b!

      If you do decide to do it yourself, I can dig up quite a few links showing you how!

    4. #13
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      Yeah I might try that if BT refuse.

      So if you can dig up some useful pages that can help me do the re-wiring.

      Also tell me what tools I'll need.

      Thank You FibreOptic
      Last edited by miahm2; 23-03-07 at 10:41 PM. Reason: To thank FibreOptic
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    5. #14
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: The BT Old Socket


    6. #15
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      Which part is it exactly.

      Its like a Book
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    7. #16
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      I know its quite long, But read it fully, Its really educational and helps you for the future if you want to hardwire any extension.

      The part about the NTE5 is about 4 Scrolls from the start, But info about all the tools and stuff is in the start

    8. #17
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      Actually u are right. I do understand, by the way BT said that if the do find a fault in my line they will fix it for free, but if they don't I'll have to pay them 116 for everything. Come to think of it I will do it myself
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    9. #18
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      Do it yourself, Then also you can install a filtered socket so any extensions after that are filtered.
      Il make a list of things you will need and costs.. Hopefully under 30

    10. #19
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      The way my old Socket is set out is with ONLY 2 blue wire going into the Circuit Board. The others are just left out.

      Should I do it like that to the NTE5 Socket
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    11. #20
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: The BT Old Socket

      Ye simple as, All you really need is to buy an NTE5 for around 10-15 and thats it really..
      Check Out; Clarity - Main Entrance - Clarity UK , adslnation.com - ADSL Products & Services UK

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION