Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Unlocked Netgear 834GT Problems

This is a discussion on Unlocked Netgear 834GT Problems within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I have managed to unlock my netgear 834GT Router thanx to info found on the forum using my lap to ...

picasso is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Unlocked Netgear 834GT Problems

I have managed to unlock my netgear 834GT Router thanx to info found on the forum using my lap to implement the procedure via a wired ethernet connection. I am a total novice to the world of networking !

my router now has the latest Netgear firmware. My aim is to use my desktop PC wired to the router & my Laptop connected wireless.

However when connecting the PC to the router and filter as instructed in the installation guide I am unable to access the IP addr http:// 192.168.0.1 for the router using Internet Explorer. Would this be due to the fact that the ethernet cable is plugged into a 1394 net adapter at the pc end? ie is this a proper adapter for this purpose?

Am I doing something obviously wrong?
      If it helps I was able to login to the router using my laptop following the unlocking procedure, but the laptop does have both a ethernet adapter and a wireless adapter. My PC is 4-5 yrs old. Im not sure what a 1394 net adapter is. (I currently connect to the internet via a USB modem.)

Any advice would be much apreciated.

2. Advertisement
      obvious is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Neath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks

Re: Unlocked Netgear 834GT Problems