Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Network query

    This is a discussion on Network query within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi I have a laptop and pc both wired to the router. I want to be allowed to send files ...

    1. #1
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Network query

      Hi I have a laptop and pc both wired to the router. I want to be allowed to send files from the laptop to the pc. Can I do this via the router? Both have static ips and use xp home edition. But i wouldn't know where to start, anybody point me to the right direction?

      much appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Network query

      I did mine via control panel set up home network, and made sure each user had admin rights on PC and laptops. We file and printer share between the three of us now.
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    4. #3
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Network query

      thanks for the reply sassylady.

      When the home network wizard asks about my internet connection, should I be choosing that it connects through a residential gateway? Or one of the other?

      and i take it i have to run the network wizard on both computers?
      Last edited by gurvy; 26-02-07 at 02:48 PM. Reason: extra info

    5. #4
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Network query

      Yes you need to run the wizard on both . Yes the residential gateway option unless you use one as a server and the second pc connectes via the first.
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    6. #5
      gurvy's Avatar
      gurvy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Max - 14MB - ADSL2
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Network query

      Excellent thanks for the info, works great. Don't know why I didn't think of this before, must have wasted so many cd's burned as data of the past few months!!

    7. #6
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Network query

      You're welcome pleased it worked
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION