Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    I want to use my router!

    This is a discussion on I want to use my router! within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I've had Sky Broadband 2 days now and I'm not impressed! I was with Tesco and used my trusty DLINK ...

    1. #1
      Ivesy's Avatar
      Ivesy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I want to use my router!

      I've had Sky Broadband 2 days now and I'm not impressed!

      I was with Tesco and used my trusty DLINK G604T with no problems.

      I'm already thinking about canceling even though the speeds are allegedly twice as fast and it's ONLY 5 per month. I found yesterday and today that the speed I'm getting is fluctuating between 5/kb and 192k/b.

      Pages are either springing up quickly or loading like dial up!
      But the icing on the cake was last night when the connection just went. It came back about 10 minutes later.

      This never happened to me with other ISP's. So before I cancel I'd like to see if using my own Router will work. I'm not that techie but I am competent!

      I rang DLINK yesterday and they said SKY won't let them have the settings they use for the router unlike all the other ISP's. I would like to know how I get them and use them with my DLINK so I can connect using this instead?

      I really want to stay with Sky but I can't be doing with the hassle of ringing customer "services" or the technical "helpline" as that's another story!

      Thanks in anticipation!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to use my router!

      Have a look at the tech forum using Mognuts utility you can get the password
      (http://admadm4.freehostia.com/broadb...erUtility.html)
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    4. #3
      Ivesy's Avatar
      Ivesy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to use my router!

      Thanks Sassy that was quick I'm impressed.

      When I clicked on both links I get the same page the, Sky Netgear DG834GT Utility version 0.3.

      Was the second link meanto send me to something different?


      Thank again

    5. #4
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to use my router!

      no didnt realise sent again, I have just input my password etc into Speedtouch router and it is fine.(Netgear is in recuss it had temporarily flat lined)
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    6. #5
      Ivesy's Avatar
      Ivesy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to use my router!

      Thanks....I think! I'm not sure what to do now!

      I managed to get to the setup screen of my DLINK but I'm none the wiser as to what info I need form the NETGEAR to use on my router?

    7. #6
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to use my router!

      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION