Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Configure Dlink 2740B router

    This is a discussion on Configure Dlink 2740B router within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi newbee here, just registered, I have been switched to sky BB before I have recieved the sky router. I ...

    1. #1
      mbros's Avatar
      mbros is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Preston
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Configure Dlink 2740B router

      Hi newbee here, just registered,

      I have been switched to sky BB before I have recieved the sky router. I have a new Dlink router which I would like to use - I read in a post earlier that I need my (MAC)@skydsl and password. Is the MAC the MAc I recived from my old service provider and is the password the one that sky supply you with?

      Many thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Configure Dlink 2740B router

      The MAC you refer to is something completely different and the password is not your Sky portal password.

      Sorry, but the user name and password combination you need are both held in your Sky router so you will have to wait for it to arrive.

    4. #3
      mbros's Avatar
      mbros is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Preston
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Saturday - Configure Dlink 2740B router

      Hi Saturday,

      Thanks for your message, in reply,

      When I do get the router how would I obtain the username and p/word, so I can us my own router (would it be through the admin login to the router and obtaining it that way)?

      Another question about email - as I have no internet connection, my line is switched, how would I get access to my sky.com emails from a web browser say, at work?

      Many thanks

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Saturday - Configure Dlink 2740B router

      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      mbros's Avatar
      mbros is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Preston
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Dlink 2740B router

      thnks wheelie,

      do I just need to click 'get' - username and password?

      Sorry but I am new to all this

      Thanks

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Dlink 2740B router

      Yep then follow what it says on screen
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      mbros's Avatar
      mbros is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Preston
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Dlink 2740B router

      thanks wheelie,

      Any thoughts on the email access online?

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Dlink 2740B router

      To the best of my knowledge you can only access it from your SkyBB connection.

      I don't use the portal myself and only ever check my sky email account with my email client once a week if I am lucky.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      cprompt's Avatar
      cprompt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: (Bristol) SSEAV
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Dlink 2740B router

      From other posts, I am under the impression that you can only access sky.com mail accounts from an IP address on Sky's network. As a result you can't access you mail from an alternative provider such as your PC at work.
      It would be good news for me if someone else could prove me wrong!

    11. #10
      lowmans's Avatar
      lowmans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: werrington
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Configure Dlink 2740B router

      You can access your emails via the portal webmail from anywhere.

      It is only your POP mail that has to be accessed from a PC connected to the Sky ISP.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION