Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    how to set up non sky router

    This is a discussion on how to set up non sky router within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; hello there,im a newbie,so forgive me for sounding simple.i have obtained my username and password from the sky router,i just ...

    1. #1
      shauntrek's Avatar
      shauntrek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      how to set up non sky router

      hello there,im a newbie,so forgive me for sounding simple.i have obtained my username and password from the sky router,i just need to know what i have to do next.the old router is a belkin g i think.many thanks.ps fantastic site,very helpful


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how to set up non sky router

      Welcome to the site shauntrek

      No offence but if you have a belkin router then surly you know where to put a username and password in it.

      I have moved your post the the correct forum
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      shauntrek's Avatar
      shauntrek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how to set up non sky router

      hi wheelie,my problem is how to get into the router to enter my details.do i type in anything specific to access the router.thank you for your quick reply.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: how to set up non sky router

      Presumably you've lost the set up instructions for your old router?

      The easiest thing would be to Google for "Belkin(model number) set up instructions" or similar.

      Most routers are pretty standard with the log in address 192.168.0.1 or 1.1, with the username admin and the password admin or blank.

    6. #5
      BJBaker's Avatar
      BJBaker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01256
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how to set up non sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by shauntrek View Post
      hello there,im a newbie,so forgive me for sounding simple.i have obtained my username and password from the sky router,i just need to know what i have to do next.the old router is a belkin g i think.many thanks.ps fantastic site,very helpful

      The Sky router supplied by Sky has some custom tweaks to make it unique for use with Sky broadband, I'm pretty sure you won't be able to use any other type, neither will you be able to use it with any other ISP. This is a standard Sky trick. Not sure why though.

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how to set up non sky router

      @shauntrek

      As Saturday has said the normal IP to gain access would either be 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.2.1
      look here for your model Belkin

      @BJ
      It is possible to use any router if you can retrieve the username and password for the Sky Box which quite a few of the experienced people in here seem to have done.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      shauntrek's Avatar
      shauntrek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how to set up non sky router

      hello saturday,i got the info of the belkin site,typed it into the browser but it wont connect and is saying it cannot display this page.i have tried a few times and double checked my typing but to no avail.any ideas.thanks

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: how to set up non sky router

      Can you be a bit more specific? At what stage is it reporting page can't be displayed? Please list how you are connected to the router and exactly what you are typing/doing.

    10. #9
      shauntrek's Avatar
      shauntrek is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: how to set up non sky router

      hi saturday,i printed instructions of belkin site,connected with sky router.next disconnected sky router.connected belkin router/modem to pc with cable,connected phone line to router,turned on ,waited for lights to come on,typed ip address as per instruction,click go on browser,thats as far as i can get.it will not connect to belkin login page or anything else.hope this makes sense.

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: how to set up non sky router

      Yes, that's quite specific without actually giving any information

      The normal process to log into a router when switching from another would be as follows:
      • connect router to PC by cable.
      • power up router
      • power up PC
      • open browser on PC
      • type router address (what address did you type?) in the address bar of the browser and hit return/go
      • in the screen that pops up enter username and password (what did you enter?)

      Exactly what happened next


      Please confirm you followed these steps and/or did something different plus answer the questions posed.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION