Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Am I getting the right speed?

    This is a discussion on Am I getting the right speed? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I have the MAX product and live 2.5km from the exchange. I only get 8Mb downstream. After reading the previous ...

    1. #1
      spadge007's Avatar
      spadge007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middleton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router reports G.DMT

      I have the MAX product and live 2.5km from the exchange. I only get 8Mb downstream. After reading the previous posts I am unsure if I am not getting the full download speed available as the router reports G.DMT

      From the stats below do you think I should complain to Sky tech Support.

      Any suggestions you have are greatly appreciated.


      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.2 14.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 24.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.3
      Max(Kbps): 9056 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Am I getting the right speed?

      You could well be capped as your router is showing G.DMT and connecting at 8096kbps.

      However it is difficult to confirm as your router is probably playing up. It is reporting 15.5db as your downstream attenuation. This may just be a coincidence but this is the figure shown when the router is experiencing a known bug (what the effects of this bug are other than the misreporting, no-one knows). Normally a reboot (sometimes a reset - pinhole on back) will get it reporting correctly.

    4. #3
      spadge007's Avatar
      spadge007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middleton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting the right speed?

      Thanks for your reply!

      I will reset the router as suggested and see if the speed improves

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Am I getting the right speed?

      Sorry - I didn't explain very well. The speed is unlikely to change (though it would be interesting if it did!). What we are trying to do is get your router to report the attenuation correctly so we can judge what speed your line is capable of.

    6. #5
      spadge007's Avatar
      spadge007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middleton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Am I getting the right speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Sorry - I didn't explain very well. The speed is unlikely to change (though it would be interesting if it did!). What we are trying to do is get your router to report the attenuation correctly so we can judge what speed your line is capable of.
      Oh I see, I will cycle the router and then post the results again. From the stats last night (see below) I think I am getting far too many CRC errors. I will test the router in the test socket to see if I need a new faceplate.

      # adslctl info--stats
      adslctl: invalid command
      #
      # adslctl info --stats
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.2 14.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 24.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 10.3
      Max(Kbps): 9056 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 562297 562295
      SFErr: 42 0
      RS: 76472416 4779507
      RSCorr: 503476 24
      RSUnCorr: 639 0

      HEC: 28 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 182523448 0
      Data Cells: 14250 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 30 0
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 26 0
      Total time = 2 hours 39 min 53 sec
      SF = 562297
      CRC = 42
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 30
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 39 min 53 sec
      SF = 562297
      CRC = 42
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 30
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 53 sec
      SF = 34934
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      #
      #

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Am I getting the right speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by spadge007 View Post
      I think I am getting far too many CRC errors.
      They are certainly on the high side but not too bad in my opinion. However you are also getting quite high errored seconds which means at that time your router is failing to receive data correctly (probably >30% errored blocks).

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION