Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 42

    Advise on error ratings and speed

    This is a discussion on Advise on error ratings and speed within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Sorry to say but your errors are still too high in my opinion. Is the router now plugged directly into ...

    1. #11
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Advise on error ratings and speed

      Sorry to say but your errors are still too high in my opinion.

      Is the router now plugged directly into the XTE-2005 socket or are you using an extension?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Simonejones's Avatar
      Simonejones is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Low Moor
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advise on error ratings and speed

      Saturday, have contacted Sky and they say that I am on ADSL2+ but the reason it shows as G.DMT is becasue the line has been capped to 8096 and this is the rate at which G.DMT operates so it is a default that the mode shows if you are capped to 8096 or lower.

      They suggested that as my line is quite stable now at this speed it would be better to leave at this speed for now, we are quite happy with this speed as before we were with Tiscali paying 16.99 for only 2meg speed. We are going to monitor the error rate though as at the moment have it plugged in to the master socket and using wireless on one computer and no internet on other computer for now, but would really like it plugged via an ethernet for one of the computers and wireless for the other one. Is it correct that to calculate the error rate the percentage of CRC out of the SF should be 0.01 or less in an ideal situation, mine is showing less than this apart from a little while ago when I lost the wireless connection for a while, obviously as the reason for this was known and now fixed then all OK .

      Thank you very much for all of your help in this matter

    4. #13
      Rammer's Avatar
      Rammer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advise on error ratings and speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Sorry to say but your errors are still too high in my opinion.

      Is the router now plugged directly into the XTE-2005 socket or are you using an extension?
      Router is plugged into extension, using the 2 wires Blue/White & White/Blue from the extension to the A & B socket on the back of the XTE-2005.

      Latest Figures:

      ES: 192 0
      SES: 13 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 16 hours 3 min 59 sec
      SF = 3400346
      CRC = 913
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 192
      Last edited by Rammer; 25-01-07 at 12:41 PM.

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Advise on error ratings and speed

      Yes, sorry, but all the XTE-2005 can do is filter anything connected to the numbered terminals. The router extension has to be connected to A&B as these are unfiltered. So, whilst the XTE-2005 is no doubt doing a great job of filtering any extensions on the numbered terminals it can't really do anything for your router extension if that's where the noise is being generated from.

      All I can suggest is that you either:
      • plug your router directly into the filtered master socket and run an ethernet cable to your PC (best option)
      • buy a long RJ11 to connect master socket to router
      • fit a new extension taking care to avoid sharp bends or crushing the wire


      In any event keep any wires away from anything electrical and if you must use an extension for the router, don't plug any other device into it - make it exclusive.

      At your current level of errors I suspect you'd have problems if you moved to ADSL2+. However, that's just my opinion.

    6. #15
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Advise on error ratings and speed

      @simonejones

      Interesting about the G.DMT. I've been theorising as much on the forum for some while now so it's good to hear I might be correct

      If you're happy with your speed then that's great. Still well worth buying a replacement faceplate though. Its simple to fit, costs a few pounds and will certainly maximise the chance of a constant stable connection.

      With regard to the 0.01% figure, I just use this as a handy rule of thumb to give an order of magnitude to the CRC error rate. In my opinion CRC errors at this rate shouldn't cause significant negative effects - other people (e.g. SKY) may use a different figure, higher or lower. However, don't get too hung up on just the CRC error rate as that's an incomplete picture of what is going on with the connection.

    7. #16
      Rammer's Avatar
      Rammer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advise on error ratings and speed

      Here's my latest figures after tweaking the RWIN setting:-

      ES: 31 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 23 0
      Total time = 3 hours 57 min 15 sec
      SF = 835321
      CRC = 60
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 31

    8. #17
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Advise on error ratings and speed

      Your errors are half what they were before but still high. You haven't given enough info to explain this (e.g. maybe your noise margin average was higher for the second set) but adjusting RWIN is unlikely to be the reason.

      RWIN is a PC parameter - it's the amount of data that a computer can accept without acknowledging the sender. Nothing to do with the router.

    9. #18
      Rammer's Avatar
      Rammer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advise on error ratings and speed

      I've got the 2 wires connected to the A & B socket on the back of the XTE-2005. These wires go up into the loft across the loft and then down to my extension roughly a total distance of about 10-12 metres.

      Would I be better off using Cat5e cable instead of the normal 6 wire telephone cable?

    10. #19
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Advise on error ratings and speed

      It depends on how you use the cat 5e. As I understand your setup, there are two possibilities.

      1. Use connect the cat5e to the ab ports at the back of the faceplate and use that as replacement to your existing telephone cabling. Then run the router off of this extension.

      If you do that, you still won't be using the filtering from the faceplate (other than removing noise from extensions connected to the filtered ports of the faceplate as Saturday describes). But the original problem does look like an internal cabling issue, so you may actually fix it by doing this.

      2. Again, as Saturday has recommended, plug the router into the master socket faceplate directly. You can then use the cat5e to connect one end to the lan port on the router and the other end to your PC.

      Note that both options involve running cat5e from and to the same room, but the solutions are radically different.

      As a general rule, you want to filter out the ADSL signal as close to the exchange as possible (ie keep the ADSL and voice stuff as separate as possible in the house). So, I'd go for option 2.

      I hope that makes sense.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    11. #20
      Simonejones's Avatar
      Simonejones is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Low Moor
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advise on error ratings and speed

      Saturday,

      here are my latest figs, do you think that these are acceptable re errors, . have ordered the new faceplate (XTE 2005) as you suggested so this may make them better still once fitted. At the moment am getting these figs with router plugged into hard wired extension , difficult to plug into master as it is in hall downstairs and there is no socket near it, could arrange for one to be fitted if absolutely necessary but think with these figs no need and also once new faceplate fitted may be even better. We have also ordered a filtered/unfiltered plate to replace the one on the extension(XTF 85 professional pre-filtered socket).

      Thanks for all of your help

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.6 14.0
      Attn(dB): 29.0 17.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.5
      Max(Kbps): 9152 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 3570392 3570390
      SFErr: 327 4
      RS: 485573392 30348315
      RSCorr: 686832 62
      RSUnCorr: 9374 0

      HEC: 268 0
      OCD: 1 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1158957124 0
      Data Cells: 1285504 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 178 0
      SES: 10 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 16 hours 52 min 8 sec
      SF = 3570392
      CRC = 327
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 178
      Latest 1 day time = 16 hours 52 min 8 sec
      SF = 3570392
      CRC = 327
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 178
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 8 sec
      SF = 25230
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52871
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION