Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    xbox live

    This is a discussion on xbox live within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; heres my set up : my laptop is connected wirelessly to my skybb box and then using ics my laptop ...

    1. #1
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      xbox live

      heres my set up : my laptop is connected wirelessly to my skybb box and then using ics my laptop is shareing the internet connection to my xbox 360 through an ethernet cable.

      now when i turn on my xbox 360 and enable my ethernet port so i can go on xbox live the internet connection on my laptop goes so i cannot acces the internet on it and then i cannot acces xbox live on my xbox but when i disable my ethernet port my laptop will be able to go online again
      Last edited by AWW; 13-01-07 at 05:59 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      can any1 help

    4. #3
      ricopico's Avatar
      ricopico is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wolverton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: TL-WR1043ND (Open-WRT)
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      This sounds like a workgroup problem to me, make sure the x360, the pc ethernet are both connected to the same (255.255.255.0 - most likely) workgroup.

      internet connection sharing is rubbish, there is about a cazillion posts about it all over the internet with baically the same problem as this.

      regards

      ricopico

    5. #4
      sirsilver's Avatar
      sirsilver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chorlton
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      IMO it would be better if you were to have your 360 wired directly to your router, no point enabling ICS on your laptop if you have a 4 port ethernet router.

    6. #5
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      well my xbox is in my room bside my laptop and my router is downstairs ?? so any ideas

    7. #6
      sirsilver's Avatar
      sirsilver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chorlton
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      There is a possible solution to your network problem, instead of ICS you could try "bridging"

      follow me

    8. #7
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      didnt work

    9. #8
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: xbox live

      i come up there is an ip adress conflict with other something something on this network

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION