Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    How do I save the DG834 Sky config?

    This is a discussion on How do I save the DG834 Sky config? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I'm due to receive my Sky Router soon and want to use it with my current ISP until the activation ...

    1. #1
      mart!'s Avatar
      mart! is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How do I save the DG834 Sky config?

      I'm due to receive my Sky Router soon and want to use it with my current ISP until the activation date. I therefore need to extract the sky username and password for safe keeping (which I've read how to do in another post) and flash it with the latest firmware from the Netgear site (I know how to do this too) so that I can enter my current ISP username/password.

      So my question is how do I make a 'backup' copy of the original sky firware, so that once my line is activated I can easily revert my router to it?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      EDIT: Sorry - didn't read your post properly.

      If you change the firmware then you can either reflash back to the Sky firmware as suggested below or simply leave the standard firmware in place and enter the Sky user name and password. i.e. you don't need the Sky firmware to connect to the Sky service.
      Last edited by Saturday; 06-12-06 at 05:15 PM. Reason: Incorrect advice Given

    4. #3
      NoXioUs's Avatar
      NoXioUs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bolton LOC
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      There is a backup firmware on the router CD. its a sky one and reconfigures ur router back to its sky defaults.

    5. #4
      mart!'s Avatar
      mart! is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks everyone for the fast and excellent advice!

    6. #5
      jennifer's Avatar
      jennifer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LocksH
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Foxsat HDR
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      181
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I save the DG834 Sky config?

      Has anyone found the Sky firmware to download? I was not sent my Sky CD

      Jennifer

    7. #6
      Rammer's Avatar
      Rammer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I save the DG834 Sky config?

      I've just received my router today, but no cd?????

      Haven't received any paperwork from sky as yet with confirmation of order or activation date.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How do I save the DG834 Sky config?

      Rammer, don't worry the CD is like a coaster, you wont need it.

      I can check to see if Sky will allow us to host the default firmware, so anyone can download it from our site.

      /puts on list of things to do
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION