Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Disposing of supplied Netgear

    This is a discussion on Disposing of supplied Netgear within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I want to move back to my Linksys WAG354v2, I've had numerous issues with the netgear, so in an attempt ...

    1. #1
      wolf's Avatar
      wolf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Forest Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Disposing of supplied Netgear

      I want to move back to my Linksys WAG354v2, I've had numerous issues with the netgear, so in an attempt to retrieve U/P details fom the Netgear it died!

      On applying power the lights come on but there's certainly no F*((*^r home!

      The LAN port is lit but nowt else, can't browse into it either.

      Obviously I can't retrieve user/pass details until I get this up - anyone know how to perform full system reset to get it back up? Have tried various combos with reset button/power but am clutching at straws.

      I called Sky and they said they could send another out in 5 working days!? I am getting major league grief off er indoors every time this goes down so as you can imagine my relationship with my partner is directly related to the reliability of 'being on line'

      Thanks
      Last edited by wolf; 27-11-06 at 01:10 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Amaboknaai's Avatar
      Amaboknaai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276 Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Copped Hall
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The CD that came with your Sky Netgear router has what you require on it. This is moot, if you cannot get into it via Ethernet connection, in which case, you won't be able to do a firmware restore.

      Choices if this is the case are limited in that you cannot get your credentials off the router.

      Look through this section of the forum, and you will find the correct sequence to reset the router to factory standard using comb of reset and power. If this doesn't work, then I am afraid you are back to dialup until they send you a replacement router...
      Last edited by Amaboknaai; 27-11-06 at 01:13 PM.

    4. #3
      wolf's Avatar
      wolf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Forest Hill
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Has anyone seen this issue with the netgear?

    5. #4
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      That depends on what you mean by "this issue"! I suspect that plenty of people have lost contact with their router when trying to hack / upgrade firmware / get username and password (hence the huge number of caveats and disclaimers that come with the process).

      As Amaboknaai says, try recovering it from the CD and then tell us how you get on.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    6. #5
      Ricey155's Avatar
      Ricey155 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exhall, Coventry - CMEXH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Woodshires Green, Coventry
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      mine dead friday - i left it for approx 30 mins with nothing conneted at all no power etc and the power came back no idea why

      its happened a few times seems to be stable last 3 days tho (even with me messing up the box hack 6-7 times)

    7. #6
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Pop an oscilloscope on the PSU (preferably under load - but that's not essential). I suspect you'll soon see why some people are seeing problems such as this.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      cough, this shows that Sky was a "Rushed" product! No real tests at all! As soon as they obtained "Easynet" the product was out asap!

    9. #8
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      You sound surprised. I'm not condoning it, but it's common practice especially when a significant amount of money has been invested in the purchase of another company. Such sums are usually borrowed (unless you're Microsoft!) and therefore the board see it as imperative that a return is seen as soon as possible. The problem arises when the technical due diligence is not detailed enough. The directors make a purchase, go to the techies and say "you have 4 weeks to ship this product". After a detailed view of their new acquisitions, the techies often have to report back that this marvellous new acquisition isn't quite as buff as the directors would believe! Of course by then it's too late and the board say, "it ships in 4 weeks nevertheless". (The 4 weeks is made up, but I have no doubts that the techical team were not happy about the product not being up to the standard that they would like.) C'est la vie.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION