Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Router Power loss question ?

    This is a discussion on Router Power loss question ? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; After reading up on all the advice on flashing etc today im ready to start, turn the router on and ...

    1. #1
      Ricey155's Avatar
      Ricey155 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exhall, Coventry - CMEXH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Woodshires Green, Coventry
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Power loss question ?

      After reading up on all the advice on flashing etc

      today im ready to start, turn the router on and the 4 ethernet lights start up and go out but no power indicator at the top of the modem

      tried resetting, removing power lead unplugging still zero power cant connect to the Dg834Gt


      anything im doing wrong ? (more like what im doing wrong)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      So basicly youv got a duff router?

    4. #3
      Ricey155's Avatar
      Ricey155 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exhall, Coventry - CMEXH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Woodshires Green, Coventry
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      its been fine but today, started the re-flash as per vishal details

      unit start flashing intermitant now doesnt power up, had'nt even started the re-flashing



      connecting the ethernet cable i get a nice light on no 1 but cant gain access to the router or find it on the upgrade wizard
      Last edited by Ricey155; 24-11-06 at 11:40 AM.

    5. #4
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Try ringing Sky they might be able to sort you out with a new one?#

      I personally havent tried flashing the router.. so i dont know what to expect!

    6. #5
      Ricey155's Avatar
      Ricey155 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exhall, Coventry - CMEXH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Woodshires Green, Coventry
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router power is back on !!! no access to router tho

      cant reset or the power is lost again, cant press reset and power up to start the flashing process

      any idea's ? what am i doing wrong except waking up today

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Its probably the router... Current Problems with them
      1 - The Locked 15.5db Attenuation
      2 - Issue With UPnP
      3 - Wireless 108Mbps Auto / Issues!

    8. #7
      Ricey155's Avatar
      Ricey155 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exhall, Coventry - CMEXH
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Woodshires Green, Coventry
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sorted got power - re-flashed and accessed the router


      ive even had a mail from sky today saying my line is finally connected

      even tho id gone through the cancel

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION