Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    wanna use sky netgear router with other ISP, NEED HELP!

    This is a discussion on wanna use sky netgear router with other ISP, NEED HELP! within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; i bought a netgear dg834gt router on ebay, but turn out to be a sky package, although the seller did ...

    1. #1
      anei416's Avatar
      anei416 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      wanna use sky netgear router with other ISP, NEED HELP!

      i bought a netgear dg834gt router on ebay, but turn out to be a sky package, although the seller did provide the ID and password for this router, but i still have no idea how to use it...
      i'm currently with Eclipse Internet, just normal broadband service, which require user name and password...
      can any one teach me how to use this dg834gt router?
      999 x thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      If the router still has the Sky firmware you will have to flash it to the standard Netgear firmware. Then you will be able to enter your Eclipse username and password.

    4. #3
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Note that there are other differences between a sky router and a normal retail netgear of the same model.

      All the problems associated with the sky model and sky firmaware seem to persist even when flashing using the netgear firmware. - in other words you have been sold a "pup"

    5. #4
      anei416's Avatar
      anei416 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      If the router still has the Sky firmware you will have to flash it to the standard Netgear firmware. Then you will be able to enter your Eclipse username and password.
      Thanks a lot for your reply, could you teach me step by step? I'm a total idiot in this field, and be honest, i dont even know what's "flashing"... >_<
      Thanks again!!

    6. #5
      anei416's Avatar
      anei416 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by dingdong View Post
      Note that there are other differences between a sky router and a normal retail netgear of the same model.

      All the problems associated with the sky model and sky firmaware seem to persist even when flashing using the netgear firmware. - in other words you have been sold a "pup"
      Thanks for your reply... should i smash this router and buy another one? or i should try to re-sell it on the stupid ebay? just kidding. am i in such bad situation? >_<

    7. #6
      wunderspud's Avatar
      wunderspud is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by anei416 View Post
      Thanks for your reply... should i smash this router and buy another one? or i should try to re-sell it on the stupid ebay? just kidding. am i in such bad situation? >_<
      I don't think you're in a bad situation - it is definately worth your time flashing to the standard netgear firmware. Follow the description here (note that you won't need to bother recovering the sky username and password, as you're not intending to use sky):

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=1199

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION