Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Router settings

    This is a discussion on Router settings within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi Guys I am new to the Sky BB subjects, just got my stuff on Wed last week and activated ...

    1. #1
      reaper's Avatar
      reaper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router settings

      Hi Guys

      I am new to the Sky BB subjects, just got my stuff on Wed last week and activated on Monday.

      The Sky box is OK, but does tend to bottle neck, due to the amount of data it has coming in.

      Firstley I live about 100 yards from the exchange, and get a full 16Mb downloads speed, Limeworks better than ever, have had 600K downloads on that since connecting.

      But I want to keep using my old router. which was perfectly adequate on my last provider, I have been and got my user name and password, and entered them into my old router and nothing.

      Do I need to change any other settings, when setting it up???

      What are the exact settings I need on this router or is there a way to get them off the sky box, which really does not tell you much, other than it is connected.

      Any help would be appreciated
      Last edited by reaper; 09-11-06 at 11:35 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      Can I just check - did you extract your username and password from your Sky router using Jose's URL injection method?

    4. #3
      reaper's Avatar
      reaper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yes I did.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      OK - great.

      You haven't said what make/model your old router is but most routers require you to set up Encapsulation, VPI/VCI and sometimes Multiplexing.

      Log into your router admin setup page and see what fields it has.

      If the above then for Sky I believe:

      Encapsulation is PPPoA
      VPI/VCI is 0/38
      Multiplexing is VC

      Are there other fields to complete? What router is it?

    6. #5
      reaper's Avatar
      reaper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I will have to get back to you on that one, later tonight as I am not at home at the moment and can not remember for the life of me what reouter it is.

    7. #6
      reaper's Avatar
      reaper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Have just remembered which router I have, surprising what a little lunch will do

      It is a Safecom, it has ADSL2+ capability

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      One of these?

      http://safecom.cn/code/sub/category....236&subcatid=1

      If so then it looks physically very similar to the Sky/Netgear router doesn't it!

      If your router is anything like that one then it appears to have a wizard to set up for specific ISPs. You'll probably need to ignore that and choose "advanced settings".

      When you get that screen put in the info I gave you above. The following may help:

      http://safecom.cn/code/product/adsl/...125/FAQ/DC.pdf

      PPPoA setup is page 7 onwards.

      Let me know if you get stuck.

    9. #8
      reaper's Avatar
      reaper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      worked like a charm, fantastic, great advise and it would have had me baffled for ages.

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      That's great - glad I could help

    11. #10
      whufc0's Avatar
      whufc0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      im having trouble using my linksys. it says its connected in the router stats. but every time i try opening a internet page it says "page cannot be displayed"

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION