Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    HELP -- Am I lost forever....

    This is a discussion on HELP -- Am I lost forever.... within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I have fell foul to the sky missing sky router problem.. My account is (supposadly) active but no sign of ...

    1. #1
      mendip_gold's Avatar
      mendip_gold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      HELP -- Am I lost forever....

      I have fell foul to the sky missing sky router problem..

      My account is (supposadly) active but no sign of the box...
      I have my own Netgear wireless router (same model as the sky one)

      After reading a lot of posts... Am I correct in thinking that...

      I am totally buggered until my box arrives !!!!
      I cannot connect until I get the info from the sky box ???

      ppoa: <mac>@skydsl
      ppoa: <password>

      ?????


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      unfortunately without the password you will not be able to connect, the password is in the router they send you.

    4. #3
      mendip_gold's Avatar
      mendip_gold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sigh !!!!!!

      I don't suppose anyone out there has a spare sky router ??

    5. #4
      martyn's Avatar
      martyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @mendip_gold
      I have 2 now
      I was going to flash them & sell via E-Bay.

    6. #5
      mendip_gold's Avatar
      mendip_gold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What do you mean by flash them? and could I use one now as it stands to connect to sky?
      Last edited by mendip_gold; 24-10-06 at 03:17 PM.

    7. #6
      martyn's Avatar
      martyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I can flash them with the non sky firmware so they work just like regular routers.

      No idea if you could use one of them - don't know if my username etc would be valid on your line.

    8. #7
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      This sounds like it would be interesting to find out.

    9. #8
      promark's Avatar
      promark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: If you can call 1.4Mb Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Dont think so as the user name is the MAC address of the WAN port of the router, so will be unique to that Router

      Might work if there is no matching of the physical MAC against the user name MAC at logon time

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION