Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Help with netgear n600 wndr3400

    This is a discussion on Help with netgear n600 wndr3400 within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi I need a lol help/advice, I was have a netgear n600 wndr3400v2 which is supposed to be 300+300mbps simultaneous ...

    1. #1
      imdag2's Avatar
      imdag2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LNUPK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Help with netgear n600 wndr3400

      Hi I need a lol help/advice,

      I was have a netgear n600 wndr3400v2 which is supposed to be 300+300mbps simultaneous dual band.

      I am getting the full 300mb link speed on the 5ghz network wifi a/n
      However according to inssider the router is only transmitting 144mb on the 2.4ghz network.

      I've been through the router settings but I don't see a way to make the 2.4ghz network only wifi n. I think it's only showing 144mb link speed because it is transmitting wifi b/g/n

      Is there something I am missing or doing wrong? Or is this normal 144+300mbps? Because the router is advertised as 300+300mbps online and on the box

      Any help or advice would be very much appreciated.

      FTTC Connection: download:40,000. upload:10,000. 5ms ping
      ADSL Speed:
      Connection Speed 18013 kbps 1087 kbps 16db 7db attenuation7db 7db noise
      Download: 15351 Kbit/s
      Upload : 957 kbit/s
      Connects : 2891 conn/min Ping: 19 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help with netgear n600 wndr3400

      To get 300mbps you need to use both the 20 and 40 mhz bands. You will find this setting in your router's wireless section, usually a drop down box.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      imdag2's Avatar
      imdag2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LNUPK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Help with netgear n600 wndr3400

      hey tom,

      yes i knew about the 20/40mhz bands but i dont have no drop down menu, the closest thing is:


      Wireless Advanced Settings (2.4GHz b/g/n)
      (ticked) Enable Wireless Router Radio
      (ticked)Enable 20/40Hz Coexistence
      . Fragmentation Length (256-2346): 2346
      . CTS/RTS Threshold (1-2347): 2347
      . Preamble Mode (long preamble)

      which is the exact same for the 5ghz a/n network except it says 5ghz a/n in the title bit

      FTTC Connection: download:40,000. upload:10,000. 5ms ping
      ADSL Speed:
      Connection Speed 18013 kbps 1087 kbps 16db 7db attenuation7db 7db noise
      Download: 15351 Kbit/s
      Upload : 957 kbit/s
      Connects : 2891 conn/min Ping: 19 ms

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help with netgear n600 wndr3400

      Try it on 40mhz only if you can, this will bond 2 channel widths and should give you 300mb/s. Be aware that you are using a lot more of the frequency available and may have a lot of interference on your network and it may interfere with others.

      Having a quick look at the Netgear site many seem to have problems getting this router to work at a constant 300mbps. Maybe Scubbie can add some insight as she is a bit of a Netgear guru.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Help with netgear n600 wndr3400

      It should be able to cope. Check out the forum linked below, it is for the WNDR3400:

      RangeMax Routers - NETGEAR Forums

      I haven't been following all the Netgear forums as strongly recently. There are quite a few posts there.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION