Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Will this solution work?!

This is a discussion on Will this solution work?! within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I am going around and around in circles trying to get my home network up and running. I have basic ...

mightymuff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

Will this solution work?!

I am going around and around in circles trying to get my home network up and running. I have basic knowledge of how things work but hopefully I can get some advice here before I waste even more money!

I recently bought a 2 floor flat in an old building with big thick walls which means getting a wifi signal to get from my router (upstairs) to my PC (downstairs) has been difficult. My PC is also under a desk with a fair bit of metal work surrounding so I am looking to use a wired connection really but it's way to far to cable from router -> PC.

To compound matters my ISP is SKY and I didn't know until AFTER I bought a new modem & router (E4200 v2 - unfortunately) that you can only use their router to connect to the internet!

So I have tried to use the sky router just as a modem basically by following the great guide posted in this thread : http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

I have now disabled the wireless on the sky router so all my wireless devices are now connected to the E4200 and everything is working nicely (apart from the weak signal downstairs).