Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Netgear N300

    This is a discussion on Netgear N300 within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; at a loss..... just cannot make this work....can anybody please make any suggestions? have used wizard several times, have used ...

    1. #1
      bearnow's Avatar
      bearnow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear N300

      at a loss..... just cannot make this work....can anybody please make any suggestions? have used wizard several times, have used a programme to find my user id and serial number...still no success.....feeling murderous....thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: please help... trying to set up netgear N300!!!

      What's the actual problem you are having?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: please help... trying to set up netgear N300!!!

      What version do you have, the N300 comes with and without a modem?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Netgear N300

      Yep I was looking at them in PC World yesterday and IIRC there were 3 versions:

      1 - dual band N without modem (ethernet)
      2 - dual band N with modem (ethernet)
      3 - single band N with modem (gigabit)

      Strange they are all N300 as opposed to N301/302/303 etc, doesn't make it easy for the consumer.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Netgear N300

      Yes, Netgear seems to have a strange naming procedure. Take the DG834 for instance, goodness knows how many flavours it comes in. It makes it difficult for the consumer.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      bearnow's Avatar
      bearnow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear N300

      it's the N300 wireless dual band modem/router i have. somebody said something about getting my login details out of the provided sky router first? how do i do this?
      my pc connects to the new N300 but there is no internet access.....

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Netgear N300

      Modem/Routers are not plug and play and can be difficult to set up. This is one of the reasons Sky supply their routers ready set up so that they are 'plug n play.' Before you can connect a nonSky router you have to enter the correct username and password, these are unique to the Sky router you have been supplied with. You can find details on how to do this in this section Extracting Sky Router passwords

      The other details you need can be found here - http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...tions-faq.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION