Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 48 of 48

    Giganews???

    This is a discussion on Giganews??? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Very new to traceroutes but this was mine news.giganews.com 1 gw1-g-vlan201.dca.giganews.com (216.196.98.4) 0 ms 3 ms 2 ms 2 xe-0-2-0.was12.ip4.tinet.net ...

    1. #41
      markie2006's Avatar
      markie2006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Giganews???

      Very new to traceroutes but this was mine

      news.giganews.com

      1 gw1-g-vlan201.dca.giganews.com (216.196.98.4) 0 ms 3 ms 2 ms
      2 xe-0-2-0.was12.ip4.tinet.net (213.200.84.77) 0 ms 0 ms 0 ms
      3 xe-0.equinix.asbnva01.us.bb.gin.ntt.net (206.223.115.12) 0 ms 0 ms 0 ms
      4 ae-2.r23.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.2.145) 90 ms 109 ms 87 ms
      MPLS Label=301616 CoS=0 TTL=0 S=1
      5 po-2.r01.amstnl02.nl.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.4.101) 92 ms 85 ms 92 ms
      MPLS Label=572 CoS=0 TTL=0 S=1
      6 xe-3-1.r01.londen01.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.4.249) 120 ms 215 ms 195 ms
      MPLS Label=20 CoS=0 TTL=0 S=1
      7 xe-4-2.r00.londen01.uk.bb.gin.ntt.net (129.250.4.225) 214 ms 211 ms 215 ms
      8 bu1.er10.enslo.ov.easynet.net (83.231.199.162) 84 ms 84 ms 84 ms
      9 te7-0-0.sr1.bllon.ov.easynet.net (89.200.132.88) 85 ms 94 ms 89 ms
      10 10.245.136.5 (10.245.136.5) 90 ms 94 ms 93 ms
      11 * * *
      12 *

      news-europe.giganews.com

      1 vl201.gw1.ams.giganews.com (216.196.110.3) 1 ms 0 ms 0 ms
      2 195.69.144.117 (195.69.144.117) 7 ms 7 ms 8 ms
      3 * * *
      4 te7-0-0.sr1.bllon.ov.easynet.net (89.200.132.88) 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms
      5 10.245.136.5 (10.245.136.5) 13 ms 8 ms 9 ms
      6 * * *
      7 * * *
      8 * * *
      Max number of unresponsive hops reached (firewall or filter?)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Giganews???

      That last hop is outside the Easynet network, so could be peering as I said earlier
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #43
      markie2006's Avatar
      markie2006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Giganews???

      Like I said a newbie to the world of hops and that, and not sure what you mean by peering?

      Cheers
      Mark

    5. #44
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Giganews???

      Tracing route to news-giganews.com [67.215.65.132]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 189 ms 121 ms 188 ms cr0.lvirb.uk.easynet.net [87.87.251.70]
      3 251 ms 233 ms 143 ms 80.238.60.65
      4 181 ms 235 ms 264 ms te0-1-0-7.er10.thlon.ov.easynet.net [89.200.134.
      129]
      5 222 ms 140 ms 158 ms 195.50.122.113
      6 224 ms * 241 ms ae-34-52.ebr2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.97]
      7 202 ms 227 ms 267 ms ae-48-48.ebr2.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [4.69.143.81
      ]
      8 204 ms 233 ms 259 ms ae-2-52.edge4.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [4.69.139.17
      0]
      9 171 ms 139 ms 150 ms SPLICE-COMM.edge4.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [212.72.
      40.98]
      10 203 ms 199 ms 228 ms hit-nxdomain.opendns.com [67.215.65.132]

      Trace complete.



      Tracing route to europe-news.giganews.com [67.215.65.132]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 100 ms 208 ms 191 ms cr0.lvirb.uk.easynet.net [87.87.251.70]
      3 180 ms 140 ms 125 ms 80.238.60.65
      4 178 ms 206 ms 177 ms te0-1-0-7.er10.thlon.ov.easynet.net [89.200.134.
      129]
      5 199 ms 162 ms 176 ms 195.50.122.113
      6 140 ms 190 ms 199 ms ae-34-52.ebr2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.97]
      7 196 ms 174 ms 239 ms ae-48-48.ebr2.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [4.69.143.81
      ]
      8 271 ms 233 ms 94 ms ae-2-52.edge4.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [4.69.139.17
      0]
      9 254 ms 221 ms 210 ms SPLICE-COMM.edge4.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [212.72.
      40.98]
      10 120 ms 138 ms 130 ms hit-nxdomain.opendns.com [67.215.65.132]

      Trace complete.

    6. #45
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Giganews???

      From Wiki:

      "Peering

      ISPs may engage in peering, where multiple ISPs interconnect at peering points or Internet exchange points (IXs), allowing routing of data between each network, without charging one another for the data transmitted—data that would otherwise have passed through a third upstream ISP, incurring charges from the upstream ISP.

      ISPs requiring no upstream and having only customers (end customers and/or peer ISPs) are called Tier 1 ISPs.

      Network hardware, software and specifications, as well as the expertise of network management personnel are important in ensuring that data follows the most efficient route, and upstream connections work reliably. A tradeoff between cost and efficiency is possible."

      Main Article
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #46
      markie2006's Avatar
      markie2006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Giganews???

      Hey There,

      Came home from work and Giganews and Mimo are now connecting as normal. Thanks everyone for their input.

      Mark

    8. #47
      Chug a Bug's Avatar
      Chug a Bug is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Yes
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      south coast
      Posts
      369
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Giganews???

      Interesting. I was having trouble myself not with Giganews but with FastUsenet a few days ago - it was slow to non existant. I was cursing them to be honest but it looks like it may have been Sky instead.

      If you suspect its a DNS issue then just connect direct via the IP address. Kind of reminds of the early days with Pipex when they started throttling Usenet - I hope it's just a coincidence.

    9. #48
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Giganews???

      If you read my last post you'll see it's probably not Sky but their peering with other worlwide networks
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION