Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    wireless woes

    This is a discussion on wireless woes within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; win 7 and vista are a nightmare to wireless network, for some reason a whole load of imcompatabilities between wireless ...

    1. #11
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: wireless woes

      win 7 and vista are a nightmare to wireless network, for some reason a whole load of imcompatabilities between wireless card and routers have suddenly appeared where there wasn't any in the past.

      I have had to buy an old router just to use as an access point as it was the only thing I could get to work with my wife's laptop.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      jat's Avatar
      jat
      jat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless woes

      have had message from windows..wireless auto-configuration service has stopped. adaptor is disabled.???

    4. #13
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: wireless woes

      What OS are you running?? I assume it is xp.

      Do the following:

      1.

      start > run > services.msc > right click 'wireless zero configuration' and select properties > ensure the start-up type is automatic and that the service is started & click ok.

      2.

      view available wireless networks > changed advanced settings in the bottom left > wireless networks tab > ensure the tick box at the top is ticked and delete any preferred networks & click ok.

      3.

      Log into the router and change the channel from auto to something else. Apply that.

      4.

      If you have any wireless manager in the task bar, search for it and in its options make sure that windows is configuring the wireless side of things.

      If you can't find any wireless manager, then go back to view available wireless networks and try to connect to the network with the network key. 8 letters, no numbers all in upper case.

      Edit: Also, in the case that the adapter is actually disabled:

      start > run > devmgmt.msc > right click your wireless nic and enable.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: wireless woes

      tried driver update, check tells me ralink card is up to date.????
      What driver update? As I said, don't believe Windows or any 3rd party driver application. Go to the manufacturers site, download and install the latest drivers for your card. Do not get the configuration utility, just the driver.

      It would be helpful if you could say what happens when you try the suggestions, simply saying it does not work does not give us a clue to what is happening. For instance when you right click the Tray icon and select 'View available networks' then highlight yours and click Connect, what exactly happens?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      jat's Avatar
      jat
      jat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless woes

      am running windows vista h.p. on advent laptop.network is not showing on available networks. when i try connect manually it connects me then puts me back on screen with network not showing.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: wireless woes

      Once again you are not giving enough feedback. Have you done as User05 suggested? Have you updated the drivers from the manufacturers site?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      jat's Avatar
      jat
      jat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless woes

      when i try to connect first message is "cannot connect to sky ****" when i diagnose problem message is "wireless association failed because windows did not receive any response from wireless router or access point" drivers are up to date. trying what user05 suggested

    9. #18
      jat's Avatar
      jat
      jat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless woes

      entered service msc there is no wireless zero configuration shown?

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: wireless woes

      There is no actual WZC in Vista. What you must do is go to Services, scroll down and find Wired AutoConfig , set it to Automatic and Start the Service. Then go to and do the same for WLAN AutoConfig. Make sure you click Apply after each change. You will probably find these are already set to Automatic and running, but it is worth a look.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      jat's Avatar
      jat
      jat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01904
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless woes

      tried everthing you suggested. still no joy. while in device mnger spotted that microsoft 6to4 adapter is not working because "windows cannot load the drivers (code31" could this be anything to do with my problem? many thanks for all your help

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION