Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility

    This is a discussion on Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi Tried to "unlock" the sky netgear router last night as i want to use it with another ISP (An ...

    1. #1
      stabiloboss's Avatar
      stabiloboss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility

      Hi

      Tried to "unlock" the sky netgear router last night as i want to use it with another ISP (An O2 thomson box i had cant be unlocked and flashed with stock firmware without openeing it etc so ive turned to the sky router instead).

      Ive read on here its a case of trying it on different PC's until it works on one by pot luck. Is this the case?

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility

      The 'blue screen' is a Vista/Win 7 problem. Although it is possible to do it on these OS, most will recommend that you use XP. Using the newer OSs you need to be logged in with full Admin privileges and run the EXEs in XP compatibility mode. Even with XP, you can have problems, usually with corrupted screen graphics and not finding the router. If you run into this, installing the MS Loopback driver will usually fix it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      stabiloboss's Avatar
      stabiloboss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility

      Seems i cant even do that now, my box just has two lights flshing back and forth (which i thought was needed?).

      When i run the recovery util it doesnt pick up the router at all. It did the first time i done this but now it doesnt.

      Im guessing that is it bricked?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility

      What OS are you using? The power and tick lights flashing means that it is in Recovery Mode.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      stabiloboss's Avatar
      stabiloboss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility

      Im on vista

      But it did work for a while. It did pick up the router and blue screened me. Thats why i think its bricked now, because it doesnt pick up the router anymore, it just has a blank screen in the recovery util where it says select device. It 110% found it last night.

    7. #6
      stabiloboss's Avatar
      stabiloboss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router stuck in recovery mode...

      Hi

      My router is stuck in recovery mode now, running the recovery util on 2 computers and both computers cannot see the router as the device list within the recovery util shows as empty and a yellow triangle with a ! is over the two TVs in the system tray.

      Is this router finished?
      Last edited by Isitme; 16-10-10 at 01:56 PM. Reason: Moved from new thread.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility

      Please do not open 2 threads on the same subject.

      You will have to try to get an XP machine to do the upgrade. The Recovery Utility is not really compatible with Vista/Win 7.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      stabiloboss's Avatar
      stabiloboss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Please do not open 2 threads on the same subject.

      You will have to try to get an XP machine to do the upgrade. The Recovery Utility is not really compatible with Vista/Win 7.
      But I am having a different issue now. I understand why im getting the blue screen and how to fix it.

      The problem now is that i cant get connected to the actual router, which is what the second thread was about.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility

      I'm sorry, but the way I see it is you are trying to flash a router and failing. All your questions are connected to this. You have now opened another thread, which is basically on the same subject. Opening a new thread for every question you have will just serve to confuse members who may be able to help.

      The PC 'not seeing' the router when it is in flash mode is quite normal as the server within the router is turned off. That is why the recovery utility has to be used.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      stabiloboss's Avatar
      stabiloboss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blue screen when running Netgear Recovery Utility

      Ah ok.

      So if it wont work on an XP machine, just forget it and buy a new router?

      Is this router even that good Or is there better routers out there if you were going to buy new?

      Cheers mate

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION