Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    wireless help

    This is a discussion on wireless help within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; im having trouble connecting my laptop to wireless,it works with the ethernet cable but not wireless,any ideas?...

    1. #1
      chicko123's Avatar
      chicko123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      wireless help

      im having trouble connecting my laptop to wireless,it works with the ethernet cable but not wireless,any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: wireless help

      Is your laptop wireless enabled , and is the wireless switched on?
      If so can it see your wireless signal and have you entered the passcode correctly (its marked on your router and is case sensitive).

      Maybe another woireless signal is interferring, you could download inSSIDer and do a scan to check, and change the wirelss channel if necessary.


    4. #3
      chicko123's Avatar
      chicko123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless help

      yeah it is wireless enabled,and switched on.
      it can see the wireless signal and it is strong,passcode it fine

      downloaded that scan check and my broadband came out higher then the others on the diagram


    5. #4
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: wireless help

      Open command prompt (start > all programs > accessories > command prompt)

      Type:

      ping 192.168.0.1

      What are the packets sent, received and lost?

    6. #5
      chicko123's Avatar
      chicko123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless help

      sent 4
      received 4
      lost 0

    7. #6
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: wireless help

      Ok, well you've got a wireless connection there. Type the following into command prompt:

      ipconfig

      &

      ping Google

      Reply with the entries for ip address, subnet mask and default gateway. They should be fine, but just for confirmation. Also, reply with the packets sent, received and lost to google.

    8. #7
      chicko123's Avatar
      chicko123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless help

      not sure what you mean?

    9. #8
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: wireless help

      In the command prompt type:
      Code:
      ipconfig
      and post it up and then type
      Code:
      ping google.co.uk
      and post it up

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    10. #9
      chicko123's Avatar
      chicko123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: wireless help

      done that

    11. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: wireless help

      You'll need to reply with the information that is returned from the command prompt. To clarify, open that black box you had open earlier (start > all programs > accessories > command prompt). Then type:

      Code:
      ipconfig
      Hit return and it'll bring back quite a bit of information. Reply with just the ip address, subnet mask and default gateway.

      Then type:

      Code:
      ping www.google.co.uk
      Then reply with the packets sent, received and lost.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION