Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    'piggyback' N router?

    This is a discussion on 'piggyback' N router? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; i have just signed up for sky unlimited bb with the full phone package and all is due to start ...

    1. #1
      lgrenter's Avatar
      lgrenter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      Rhondda, South wales
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      'piggyback' N router?

      i have just signed up for sky unlimited bb with the full phone package and all is due to start on 27 sept. i have been using a bt homehub N class router which gives me excellent speeds and good connection throughout my 3 story house (router sited on ground floor). i have seen it mentioned online that it is possible to connect the HH to the sky router and use its wireless instead of the sky routers. how do i go about doing this when i go live? what connections/settings to i need to set up? please go easy on me guys and girls! simpler the better!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: 'piggyback' N router?

      I dont know how configurable the HH is unfortunately but for any other router you do the following:
      Change these settings on the sky router:
      Wireless Off
      DHCP Scope 192.168.0.3 to 192.168.0.254

      Change these on the other router/HH:
      DHCP Off
      IP address: 192.168.0.2

      You then run an ethernet cable from the sky router to the HH.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      lgrenter's Avatar
      lgrenter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      Rhondda, South wales
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'piggyback' N router?

      thanks for the advice! have checked the HomeHub DHCP settings page and they are laid out as follows-

      Hub IP Address
      IP Address 192.168.X.XXX
      Netmask 255.XXX.XXX.0

      DHCP SERVER
      Enabled * Yes No
      Start Address 192.168.1.XX
      End Address 192.168.1.XXX

      i can see that i will need to set the DHCP Server Enabled to No, but which Ip settings do i change? is it only the Hub IP Address? or do i need to also alter the Start/End Addresses?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 'piggyback' N router?

      Just the hubs IP adddress, the start/finish addresses are disabled when you turn off DHCP.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: 'piggyback' N router?

      Remember once you change the address you'll have to access the HH on 192.168.0.2 instead of the address your using currently.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    7. #6
      Mr Spouse's Avatar
      Mr Spouse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Somewhere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      314
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: 'piggyback' N router?

      If your HomeHub is currently 192.168.1.x then you don't need to do anything to the Sky router except switch off wireless and connect one LAN port to the HH WAN port. If the HomeHub has full router capabilities then you could also turn on DMZ on the Sky router and direct all traffic to the HomeHub IP.

    8. #7
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: 'piggyback' N router?

      As the HH is not a cable router you cannot set it up how you suggest mr spouse. It wont do routing from its ethernet port only from the internal dsl modem.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    9. #8
      lgrenter's Avatar
      lgrenter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      Rhondda, South wales
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'piggyback' N router?

      Thanks Simon for the simple advice, will attempt what u advise when i go live with sky on the 27th. Just a couple of things, do i connect both routers together via any ethernet ports that they have? do i plug wired devices into the ethernet on the sky router, Home Hub or either?

    10. #9
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: 'piggyback' N router?

      Doesnt matter which box you plug wired devices into and you can use any ports on either to link them up

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    11. #10
      lgrenter's Avatar
      lgrenter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      Rhondda, South wales
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 'piggyback' N router?

      cheers m8

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION