Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Are wireless networks prone to 'noise'

    This is a discussion on Are wireless networks prone to 'noise' within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hello, Do wireless networks suffer with the same 'noise' problems as wired networks? I currently have my xbox connected to ...

    1. #1
      hungledink's Avatar
      hungledink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston, Mch
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Are wireless networks prone to 'noise'

      Hello,

      Do wireless networks suffer with the same 'noise' problems as wired networks?

      I currently have my xbox connected to my router via an Ethernet cable.

      After having problems with my broadband connection, and noise margins, I inadvertently discovered that the Ethernet cable was picking up lots of noise, effect the broadband connection.

      If I use the xbox wireless adapter, will the wireless connection suffer the same as the wired connection?

      Sorry if this doesn't make much sense, been a long day!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Are wireless networks prone to 'noise'

      Quote Originally Posted by hungledink View Post
      Hello,

      Do wireless networks suffer with the same 'noise' problems as wired networks?

      I currently have my xbox connected to my router via an Ethernet cable.

      After having problems with my broadband connection, and noise margins, I inadvertently discovered that the Ethernet cable was picking up lots of noise, effect the broadband connection.

      If I use the xbox wireless adapter, will the wireless connection suffer the same as the wired connection?

      Sorry if this doesn't make much sense, been a long day!!
      Ethernet is very good at noise rejection. Its twisted pairs and differential amplifiers so any noise picked up affects both connections of the pair and the differential amplifier removes the noise.

      Wireless is far more affected by RF frequency noise.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    4. #3
      hungledink's Avatar
      hungledink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston, Mch
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are wireless networks prone to 'noise'

      Thanks for the info.

      I only guessed at the ethernet cable picking up the noise because in my router stats, the downstream noise margin is 8.3, but when I plug the ethernet cable in it rises to 14.

      Is this expected or could something else be affecting it?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Are wireless networks prone to 'noise'

      When the noise margin rises, that means there is less noise, not more. I don't understand why plugging in an ethernet cable can make the noise margin increase. Is this repeatable or was it a one time happening. If it is repeating, please post your before and after stas.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      hungledink's Avatar
      hungledink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Urmston, Mch
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Are wireless networks prone to 'noise'

      It seems to happen every time.

      Before attaching cable the stats are these

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3808 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.4 db 16.0 db

      Then it went to these

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3808 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.3 db 16.0 db

      Taking the cable out sees the stats go back to these

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3808 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 16.0 db

      Bit weird!!

    7. #6
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Are wireless networks prone to 'noise'

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      When the noise margin rises, that means there is less noise, not more. I don't understand why plugging in an ethernet cable can make the noise margin increase. Is this repeatable or was it a one time happening. If it is repeating, please post your before and after stas.
      Pedantic hat on - Noise margin is the difference between noise level and signal level. It doesn't mean that noise has reduced, it could equally mean the signal has increased.
      Higher positive value is a good thing.


      I cant come up with a good reason for the improved SNR. But if you reboot the modem with the better SNR connection, then the downstream bitrate value should increase from 3808Kb/s.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Are wireless networks prone to 'noise'

      It doesn't mean that noise has reduced, it could equally mean the signal has increased.
      That's a good point although it does not often happen, for some strange reason plugging in the ethernet cable seems to be increasing the signal. Rebooting should increase the sync unless the line is capped. It's worth a try,

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION