Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Help Needed set up Dvr

    This is a discussion on Help Needed set up Dvr within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi i wonder if anyone could spare me sometime and detailed info as i am a newbie Im trying to ...

    1. #1
      packer6969's Avatar
      packer6969 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02380
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help Needed set up Dvr

      Hi i wonder if anyone could spare me sometime and detailed info as i am a newbie

      Im trying to set up my CCTV Dvr so i can view while away from home
      I had trouble with port-forwarding so i purchased an on-line tool to do this for me

      I am able to view Dvr when using my computer from home but when i try to access it from outside the home it will not work.

      I have spent a week trying to get this to work i have even downloaded the sky router tool but am unable to get this to work.

      Not sure what to do or where to go..

      I would appreciate any Help .

      Not sure what info you require, i will forward when necessary

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help Needed set up Dvr

      One of the difficulties when trying to do this sort of thing is the fact that you do not have a static IP Address. I don't know if this is your actual problem but you should get a dynamic IP address from DynDNS.com - Free Domain Name, Managed DNS, Email Services This will ensure that you are always using the correct address to access your cameras.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      packer6969's Avatar
      packer6969 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02380
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Needed set up Dvr

      I have done this but still unable to get things work
      Are you able to instruct me on how to do this from this end, I have tried to follow on-line help pages but to no avail

      Thanks for ur post

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help Needed set up Dvr

      Maybe if you post the make and model of your cameras and dvr, someone will be able to offer help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      packer6969's Avatar
      packer6969 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02380
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Needed set up Dvr

      The make of my Dvr is an Apollo Hd and im running 8 Sony ccd Vandal proof dome cameras.
      I have the Dvr connected to the internet via Mains Internet plug Running at 200mbps.
      I am able to view remote connections locally but once i leave the premisses i am unable to view using iphone app.

      I have tried several configurations in admin page of router but am NOW STUCK
      Please can somebody HELP IM LOOSING IT .

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help Needed set up Dvr

      Have you tried viewing with a PC/Laptop instead of the iPhone?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      packer6969's Avatar
      packer6969 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02380
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Needed set up Dvr

      Yes i have and still no luck not sure if i have configured all settings correctly , But have must have done something right as i can view via internal network on both iphone via wireless connection and via laptop on the same network

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help Needed set up Dvr

      Have you set up the Portforwarding to point to the IP address of the DVR. This should be a fixed address, not one given out by the DHCP server or if you use the server, reserve the address of the DVR in the List in the LAN settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      packer6969's Avatar
      packer6969 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02380
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Needed set up Dvr

      Yes i have port forwarded to an IP address out of range so it doesn't assign a new IP address < I've done this on recommendation from a previous web knowledge page .
      IP address im using is 192.168.0.52

      Ports 80,37777,37778 are open. this was done using the port forward tool that i purchased on line , Like i said i am a newbie at all of this and really quite unsure of what to do to get this working ..

      Thank you for being patient

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Help Needed set up Dvr

      IP address im using is 192.168.0.52
      Have you made sure that you DVR is using this as a fixed address and not obtaining an address from the server?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION