Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Draytek 2820n

    This is a discussion on Draytek 2820n within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I have just joined Sky Broadband unlimited 20mb and am trying to setup my draytek router. Ihave got my Username: ...

    1. #1
      rs8866's Avatar
      rs8866 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01782
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Draytek 2820n

      I have just joined Sky Broadband unlimited 20mb and am trying to setup my draytek router. Ihave got my Username: Password: from the sagem router now i need to setup the draytek.
      I have done
      Network Type PPPoA
      Multi-PVC channel Channel 1
      VPI - 0
      VCI 38
      Encapsulating Type Not sure need help on this
      Modulation also this Not sure need help on this
      If anyone can help me.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 to Draytek 2820n Router

      Encapsulation RFC 2364 PPPoA
      Modulation - AUTO

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #3
      rs8866's Avatar
      rs8866 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01782
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 to Draytek 2820n Router

      hi thanks for the help but i can only use
      Encapsulating Type i can only choose LLC/SNAP, or VC/MUX
      Modulation T1.143,
      G.LITE,
      G.DMT
      ADSL2(992.3),
      ADSL2(ANNEX M),
      ADSL2+(992.5),
      ADSL2+(ANNEX M),
      Multimode
      Attached Files Attached Files

    5. #4
      sbarkeri's Avatar
      sbarkeri is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSHI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shipley, W.Yorks
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@ST 2504 to Draytek 2820n Router

      Quote Originally Posted by rs8866 View Post
      hi thanks for the help but i can only use
      Encapsulating Type i can only choose LLC/SNAP, or VC/MUX
      Modulation T1.143,
      G.LITE,
      G.DMT
      ADSL2(992.3),
      ADSL2(ANNEX M),
      ADSL2+(992.5),
      ADSL2+(ANNEX M),
      Multimode
      Set the Encapsulating to VC/SNAP.

      The Modulation depends on whether you are on G.DMT or ADSL2+ however most people will be on ADSL2+ so go for ADSL2+(992.5).
      Last edited by sbarkeri; 25-06-10 at 02:49 PM. Reason: Failure

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2820n

      Encapsulation ..VC/MUX
      Modulation ADSL2+(992.5) You could also set this to MultiMode, just in case your line cannot handle ADSL2+

      You would be well advised to allow DLM to complete before attempting to use a non-Sky router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2820n

      see how come everyone is using a non brand router all of a sudden and yet you get warnings from people saying dont do it dont do it

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2820n

      I don't think everyone is saying don't do it, what they do say is if you do, you run the risk of being disconnected should Sky enforce their T & Cs. No one on the forum should encourage a member to break the T & Cs, it is entirely up to the individual whether they do so.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2820n

      ok if it breaks the t&c why do people do it lol have you changed your router isitme

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2820n

      Some do it because they think their own one is better, some for the extra facilities like QoS available on some routers and some do it because they can.
      I use the Sky DG834GT with CU firmware. I have no need for anything more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2820n

      ah ok what about qos and double firewall gigabit lans er what else em make and model of it
      think thats all. say if i picked a router with qos double firewall and gigabit lan would i be better online like for gaming on xbox live or downloading or surfing the net. one thing i dont use is skys wireless network built in thingy lol all my systems are pretty much lan ecept my moms laptop thats wireless although she is thinking of getten a desktop and having it connecting buy lan.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION