Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Putting sky in my kitchen

    This is a discussion on Putting sky in my kitchen within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi This is probably really simple but cant seem to get it to work - we have sky and box ...

    1. #1
      Janet Jones's Avatar
      Janet Jones is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01772 812
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Putting sky in my kitchen

      Hi
      This is probably really simple but cant seem to get it to work - we have sky and box in our front room and are trying to add it to our kitchen TV without paying extra to sky. We have installed a new coax cable from RFout2 on the back of the front room sky box and connected this into the aeriel socket in the back of the kitchen TV but nothing happens ? What channel should the kitchen TV be on to receive sky ?
      Thanks in advance
      Janet


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      anarchyuk's Avatar
      anarchyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Putting sky in my kitchen

      Quote Originally Posted by Janet Jones View Post
      Hi
      This is probably really simple but cant seem to get it to work - we have sky and box in our front room and are trying to add it to our kitchen TV without paying extra to sky. We have installed a new coax cable from RFout2 on the back of the front room sky box and connected this into the aeriel socket in the back of the kitchen TV but nothing happens ? What channel should the kitchen TV be on to receive sky ?
      Thanks in advance
      Janet
      you will have to re tune the tv to pick up the sky channel./

    4. #3
      PaulE's Avatar
      PaulE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claughton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Putting sky in my kitchen

      It's impossible.
      Each viewing card has to be paired to a box.
      You'd have to pay for multiroom.
      Its only a tenner a month, don't be tight.

    5. #4
      PaulE's Avatar
      PaulE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claughton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Putting sky in my kitchen

      Do you want to recieve different channels at once on the two boxes?
      Or is it mainly you're in one room or the other?

      If you just want to be able to watch sky whilst you're eating in the kitchen, buy a magic eye, which sends the signal from one box, to your second tv.

      However, it's not independant and if you change the channel, it will change on both tv's.

      Magic eyes are only about 15-30 from argos etc.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Putting sky in my kitchen

      PaulE, what are you talking about???

      It is very somple to run a second feed from a Sky receiver, they even have two RF outputs to do this, fitting a magic eye will even allow you to control it from that location the OP has managed to sort out the tuning now and it is all working.

      Just so you know, I have 4 TV's all running from my Sky+HD receiver all with magic eyes and as long as you don't mind watching the same Sky channels in different rooms it's not an issue.

    7. #6
      PaulE's Avatar
      PaulE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claughton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Putting sky in my kitchen

      No, I mean you can't watch two separate channels at once with one box, thats what i thought the op was after. Im right in saying that much aren't I?

    8. #7
      PaulE's Avatar
      PaulE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Claughton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Putting sky in my kitchen

      It was the fact her post stated "without paying extra to sky"
      which made me believe she wanted multiroom, without paying.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Putting sky in my kitchen

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulE View Post
      No, I mean you can't watch two separate channels at once with one box, thats what i thought the op was after. Im right in saying that much aren't I?
      Yes you are right there

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Putting sky in my kitchen

      Pity, this was answered and solved in another post before the initial post here was answered.-
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-s...y-kitchen.html

      That is the problem with double posting

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Putting sky in my kitchen

      Isitme, I did point that out in post 5 ^^^^^ which was my first post on the subject.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION