Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    need generic firmware for sagem

    This is a discussion on need generic firmware for sagem within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; edit: guide added on this post http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...tml#post260182 hey guys, I have 2 sagem routers my 20mbit one and an other ...

    1. #1
      anarchyuk's Avatar
      anarchyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      need generic firmware for sagem

      edit: guide added on this post http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...tml#post260182

      hey guys,

      I have 2 sagem routers my 20mbit one and an other is dead, neither router can use wireless beyond 1300kb/s!! i get the full 2000kb/s using ethernet, I Firstly wanted to test a generic firware with my username and password on the older one to see if the what seems like a sky imposed 1300kb/s limit is removed but ive searched for about 2 hrs and cant find a fully generic sagem fw, any ideas? i have both the usernames and passwords!



      any help would be appreciated!! cheers
      Last edited by anarchyuk; 21-02-10 at 03:48 PM. Reason: guide added


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: need generic firmware for sagem

      Follow the instructions 1 to 6 in this thread.
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/extra...-take-2-a.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: need generic firmware for sagem

      Quote Originally Posted by anarchyuk View Post
      , I Firstly wanted to test a generic firware with my username and password on the older one to see if the what seems like a sky imposed 1300kb/s limit is removed
      Sky cannot impose a limit on your wireless connection. Its just that you will naturally see a drop in the wireless speed, dependant on the speed of your wireless connection, and its strength.

    5. #4
      anarchyuk's Avatar
      anarchyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need generic firmware for sagem

      somethings up with it!! a firmware issue if not an imposed limit in the firmware, I tried every channel on the router have it 1 meter from the pc, tried it on my mac, on my gf's laptop and on my pc in varion linux distros and its maxed at 1300kb/s on both routers!!

      anyway ive done steps 1-6 and im on the config section in telnet and its asking about all sorts of ubr vtrurb stuff when configuring wan! im not getting it right cos the sync is all fine but isp bit doesnt go through so ppp must be off when i set it up..
      and idea what settings i should use?

      here is what i have tried

      VPI [0-255] (0) : 0
      VCI [32-65535] (35) : 38
      WAN ID [0-8] (0) : 1
      Category [1-ubr,2-ubrpcr,3-cbr,4-rtvbr,5-nrtvbr] (1) : 2
      Peek Cell Rate [cells/s] () : 1
      Protocol [1-pppoa,2-pppoe,3-mer,4-ipoa,5-bridge] (1) : 1
      Encapsulation [1-llc,2-vcmux] (1) : 2
      State [1-enable,2-disable] (1) : 1
      Service name () : SKY
      User name () : removed ....
      Password () :removed
      Idle timeout (minutes) [0-1090] (0) : 50
      Authentication method [1-auto,2-pap,3-chap,4-mschap] (1) : 3
      IGMP [1-enable,2-disable] (2) : 1
      QoS [1-enable,2-disable] (2) : 1
      PPP IP address [1-enable,2-disable] (2) : 1
      IP Address : ??? my ip here
      PPP MTU [38-1492] (1492) : 1500

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: need generic firmware for sagem

      I don't know why you should be using Telnet. When you complete item 6, that is the router returned to standard firmware. You only need to use telnet if you want to see the password, which you don't as you will be using the details from your existing router. Simply delete these details and put in the ones from your Sky router.

      This method was created by James to get the username and password out of the Sagem router, later he concocted a much easier method, using the password generator. The first part is useful for returning the router to Standard Sagem firmware.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      anarchyuk's Avatar
      anarchyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need generic firmware for sagem

      because i dont want the normal firmware i wanted generic and I have just sorted anyway, I now have a generic firmware working with my username and password..

      now time to test wireless speed me thinks


      ISSUE with wireless now resolved! 1.9mb a sec!!
      Last edited by anarchyuk; 17-02-10 at 03:54 PM.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: need generic firmware for sagem

      because i dont want the normal firmware i wanted generic
      I am not sure what you mean by 'generic'? Can you post a link to it please, for future reference?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      anarchyuk's Avatar
      anarchyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need generic firmware for sagem

      just the one from what you posted the unbranded direct from sagem before sky lock it down and remove settings!!

      but instead of me using it to flash the firmware the flash it back to sky's to get my username and password i kept it on this one and used telnet to configure it to work with sky!!

      its got 10x more configuration options than the sky firmware!

      cheers for ya help

    10. #9
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: need generic firmware for sagem

      interesting thread, i'm maxing out my line 20196/1065 but can only seem to push 1.6Mb through wireless on the sagem and the full through wired (i just put it down to my laptop network card) i may have look into this though.... its not hugely important as fast as i really need it and use my belkin as an access point most the time.
      Thanks

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: need generic firmware for sagem

      Wireless is a poor way to connect especially if you need to move data around at any speed, use homeplugs or an ethernet cable.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION