Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Using DG834GT with TalkTalk

    This is a discussion on Using DG834GT with TalkTalk within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi Have moved to TalkTalk broadband from sky. The reason i did this was that i was using slightly more ...

    1. #1
      railfrog's Avatar
      railfrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMCHD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Using DG834GT with TalkTalk

      Hi

      Have moved to TalkTalk broadband from sky.
      The reason i did this was that i was using slightly more than the 10 gig allowance each month, and was gonna be moved to the unlimited. So more cost.
      Anywho...Can i use my old sky router, DG834GT with another broadband supplier or is it just set up for sky broadband?

      Before anyone asks, i want to do this because i had no problem whatsoever with the router and it was easy to configure.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Use Sky router for another provider

      You can use the Sky router with another ISP, but first you will have to flash it to standard Netgear firmware.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      railfrog's Avatar
      railfrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMCHD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Use Sky router for another provider

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You can use the Sky router with another ISP, but first you will have to flash it to standard Netgear firmware.

      Thanks

    5. #4
      railfrog's Avatar
      railfrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMCHD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Use Sky router for another provider

      Downloaded the firmware from netgear site.
      Came down as an " .img " file.
      Do i have to burn it to disc first or will it run from hard drive as it is?

      Does not say anything about burning to disc on the netgear web site.
      Link to Netgear Site

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Using DG834GT with TalkTalk

      Flashing a Sky router is not as straight forward as a normal firmware upgrade due to the special Sky firmware.

      Have a look at this Tutorial on flashing the DG834GT-
      Flashing your Sky Router firmware

      You should use XP for this as Vista and Win 7 throw up a lot of problems with the Recovery Utility.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION