Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Does my router support a push button configuration?

    This is a discussion on Does my router support a push button configuration? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi all, this is my first post so go easy! I just bought a HP wireless printer and some of ...

    1. #1
      louloub1983's Avatar
      louloub1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Does my router support a push button configuration?

      Hi all, this is my first post so go easy!

      I just bought a HP wireless printer and some of the features it supports require me to have a WPS router with an integrated push button. I've scoured all over google trying to find out more about this but I still don't know if my router supports it! Does anyone know?

      lou x


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,373
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does my router support a push button configuration?

      I don't believe it does have an integrated push button, the netgear v5 has push button connect for the wireless if that is what it is asking.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Does my router support a push button configuration?

      WPS (WiFi Protected Security) is a relatively new method of connecting supported wireless devices. Unfortunately the Sky routers do not support this.

      You should still be able to set your printer up using a more manual method. Post your exact model if you are unsure what to do.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      carizma's Avatar
      carizma is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chessington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does my router support a push button configuration?

      Hello,

      I have a wifi HP Photosmart C4780 printer (WPS) ....

      Can I use this with the Sagem router??

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Does my router support a push button configuration?

      You can use it with any router, put the setup disk in your PC and run it, you’ll be prompted to temporarily connect the printer to the PC with a USB cable, then you will be asked to enter the SSID and password for your WiFi network. That's all there is to it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      carizma's Avatar
      carizma is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chessington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does my router support a push button configuration?

      Many thanks

    8. #7
      friskhisk's Avatar
      friskhisk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Location
      watford, herts
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does my router support a push button configuration?

      so does your router work because i have the same as you?

    9. #8
      friskhisk's Avatar
      friskhisk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Location
      watford, herts
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Does my router support a push button configuration?

      this is the printer i want to use it with HP Q8444B Photosmart .

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION