Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Using a different router

    This is a discussion on Using a different router within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I have DG834GT, but would like to use a Dlink DSL-2640B, would this be possible on Sky Broadband? what would ...

    1. #1
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Using a different router

      I have DG834GT, but would like to use a Dlink DSL-2640B, would this be possible on Sky Broadband? what would I need to do to get it all working with Sky? and wireless etc? is it hard to do?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      Quote Originally Posted by evokazz View Post
      I have DG834GT, but would like to use a Dlink DSL-2640B, would this be possible on Sky Broadband? what would I need to do to get it all working with Sky? and wireless etc? is it hard to do?
      First of all let it be noted that what you are proposing is against Skys T&C. However, It can be done in one of 2 ways.

      By using your sky router and "piggy backing" your Dlink on it. That is to say connect the Dlink to one of the sky routers Ethernet ports. Using the sky router for basic connection and the Dlnk as a switch, allowing you to use the Dlink for its better wireless ect. This way you stay within the T&C's

      The other way is just to use your own router after getting your sky user details from the link below. This is against sky T&C's

      All the help you seek is located on this site.

      You might find this useful to read extract sky user details

    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      I assume you want to do this to allow you to use two consoles with open NAT.

      The only way this will work is to connet the router directlym you cannot piggyback in this instance.

      many people use their own routers so I wouldn't let the T&C's worry you too much. Just keep the Sky router handy just incase they ever decide to police the policy.

    5. #4
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      Yeah, so if I setup the D-Link, then Sky decide to police it, or they tell me to change back (would they?) can I simply plug the netgear back in and resume normally? or would it need setting up again? does this extract process change the netgear in anyway?

      So to break down, could I Setup the D-Link, play online with my daughter on our XBOX 360s (2 open NATS) then once our game session is done, plug the Sky router back in and resume all safe and sound?
      Last edited by evokazz; 02-11-09 at 10:11 AM.

    6. #5
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      I am going to let Smitthy answer this as I don't really know about open nats to allow 2 xbox's to run.

    7. #6
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      I'm also wondering if newer Sky routers support 2 open Nats?

      EDIT - Scrap that, I am thinking it might be best to get the Dlink for multi console play (parties etc) but want to know can I simply pop the router in when I wanna play then switch it out for the old sky netgear one for the rest of the time (99% of the time as we dont have a lot of console parties)
      Last edited by evokazz; 02-11-09 at 04:39 PM.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      You could just fit the router when you need to but to be honest I wouldn't bother. Just fit it and then if Sky say anything then you can then use the Netgear again.

      You can simply change between the twom just unplug one and plug in the other.

    9. #8
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      But I dont want to lose Sky as an ISP, as after a few teething issues, I have really enjoyed their service, I wont lose my broadband will I?

      I would only use the DLink for when doing game parties, if I did buy the DLink I am guessing it would need the username and password from the above link (thanks) but will it need any more information? other than UPNP enabled if its off.

      Would the wireless work fine just with Sky Username and pass, or would I need to write down all my netgear defaults and copy them to the new router?

      If sky detected the new router would they send me a letter? call me? or simply ban me as a ISP customer? I dont want to get in trouble lol

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      Nobody has ever been contacted by Sky over using their own router and there are 10,000's of people doing so.

      They certainly wouldn't disconnect you, at most if they do enforce it you may be asked to fit the original one.

      Don't worry about it.

      As for the settings, you will the Username and Password, it is also worth taking a picture of the connection page to ensure that the other settings are the same. You can then set your wireless details to whatever encryption you want/need.

      It's simple to do.

    11. #10
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      Thanks Smithy thats excellent and reassuring. Taking a picture is a brilliant idea.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION