Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Using a different router

    This is a discussion on Using a different router within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; It's a simple soloution, I tried it once when I was switching routers and got fed up with plugging them ...

    1. #11
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      It's a simple soloution, I tried it once when I was switching routers and got fed up with plugging them each in to see if I had forgotten something.

      It seemed obvious once I had done it


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      If your a firefox user then you may find Screengrab extension very handy

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      If sky detected the new router would they send me a letter? call me? or simply ban me as a ISP customer? I dont want to get in trouble lol
      Nobody knows as nobody has been pulled up yet. I would imagine if it did happen you would get a letter or email telling you they have detected it and give you X number of days to put it right. Keep a hold of your Sky router if you do decide to change. Don't be like some and sell it, or you could be up the creek without a paddle.

      As you seem to be leaning to using a non-Sky router, I will move this to the appropriate Section.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      Haha thanks, well I wont afford the DLink model I want till after xmas now cheapest I found is 50 on ebay, is there a better online store for routers?

      I decided to keep the sky router as main and switch out to dlink when needed (in use).

    6. #15
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      One more question, been looking more into the Dlink DSL-2640B and it looks amazing for what I want, but I keep finding the one mentioned, and the Dlink DSL-2640R, does anyone know what the difference is?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      This is the cheapest B model I could find - http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/1153...&CodePromo=oui

      It's a lot higher priced elsewhere, Amazon 99.99

      There does not seem to be much difference between them, the B seems to have auto-QoS, but hat is about all.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      evokazz's Avatar
      evokazz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      I have found the DSL-2640R for cheap, but it's in an AOL box, does this mean it is full of AOL garbage and will need flashing or something? or will it just be like a new D-Link one? that can be used with Sky BB?

    9. #18
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Using a different router

      should be fine evokazz, as long as you can have your sky username and password there shouldnt be any problems settings up the DSL-2640R(even if it was from aol)

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION