Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Blocked ports

    This is a discussion on Blocked ports within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi - something I've not come across. I can no longer access HTTP, HTTPS or FTP internet on one of ...

    1. #1
      Lorne's Avatar
      Lorne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Blocked ports

      Hi -

      something I've not come across. I can no longer access HTTP, HTTPS or FTP internet on one of my laptops. This for both wireless and etherent. The connection is very strong. The other home pc and laptop can connect. I've looked at the firewall (windows and norton) by introducing exceptions and by turning it off but but no good. Can connect to maybe websites that are only www with HTTP. I seem to be blocked: SKY would not do this to only one pc? Could it be the IP address that is blocked? I did not go beyond any limits. Could be SOPCAST?

      any idead? Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Blocked ports

      It looks like a firewall or AV issue. Some firewall, Norton included still operate when apparently disabled. What you can try is starting in Safe Mode with Networking, see if you can connect. If you can, it points at your security software. You may find that the wireless will not work, but the ethernet will.

      The only place the laptops IP address can be blocked is in the router, it cannot be blocked from the internet side. If your IP were blocked, it would efect all your machines.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Lorne's Avatar
      Lorne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blocked ports

      thanks - booted in safe mode with networking. Still no access to HTTP, HTTPS or FTP.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Blocked ports

      Try this - If you are using XP Download and run this - http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/N...nSockFix.shtml

      If you are using Vista do the following -

      1. Click on Windows key
      2. Type Cmd .
      3. Press Ctrl-Shift-Enter keyboard shortcut to run Command Prompt as Administrator. Allow elevation request.
      4. Type netsh int ip reset in the Command Prompt shell, and then press the Enter key.
      5. Restart the computer.

      If you are on Linux or Mac, sorry I can't help. Edit- ignore, I see you are on Windows.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Lorne's Avatar
      Lorne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blocked ports

      Thanks - I should have read Isitme 's note first. It would have saved me time and grief. I got there in a round about way: I had to reset the Winsock settings. I did it by download the 'Fix It' tool from Microsoft (I know I know but I was getting desperate). This the MicrosoftFixit50203.msi which is available at How to determine and to recover from Winsock2 corruption in Windows Server 2003, in Windows XP, and in Windows Vista

      It works now. Be careful with 3rd party proxies

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION