Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Xbox360

    This is a discussion on Xbox360 within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi all, I have just purchased a new xbox360 elite but i cant seem to get it to connect o ...

    1. #1
      charlieF29's Avatar
      charlieF29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Xbox360

      Hi all,

      I have just purchased a new xbox360 elite but i cant seem to get it to connect o my router.

      I use a wireless adapter and it can see my router fine but for some reason it won't conncet. I have taken off the security on my router to take out the problem of security keys so it's not that.

      Any ideas?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Xbox360

      try setting a static wireless channel on the router instead of automatic, and then put security back on. Make sure you enter the security key in the correct uppercase/lowercase as set on the router.
      Also that the xbox is in range and getting a good signal strength.

    4. #3
      charlieF29's Avatar
      charlieF29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox360

      Hi,

      Thanks for the reply but I am but Iam not sure how to set a static wireless channel can you please explain.

      I also borrowed someone elses wireless adapter and it didnt work either so i know its not the adapter with the problem.

      My x-box is in range of the router because when i go to the scan for networks page it says its connected to my router with full signal even though when i test the connection it fails between my xbox and router.

      Thanks

    5. #4
      charlieF29's Avatar
      charlieF29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox360

      Ok now i feel like a noob....................

      Didn't have caps lock on hahahahahahaha

      Thanks Anyway

    6. #5
      Donaldson2121's Avatar
      Donaldson2121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMNEW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      Newcastle-Under-Lyme
      Posts
      245
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox360

      glad you got it sorted If you go to the xbox network settings and test your connection does it say its all ok? or do you get a warning about NAT?
      If you get the warning then theres some further steps i can help you with so that you get an "open" NAT setting, which will stop you from getting the errors about not being able to connect to games/partys etc

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Xbox360

      Ok, now sell the adaptor on e-bay and use the money to buy a pair of homeplugs, that will improve your game ping no end.

    8. #7
      charlieF29's Avatar
      charlieF29 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Xbox360

      Donaldson - My Nat setting is open so all good there, thanks anyway.

      Smithy - Whats a home plug?

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Xbox360

      Its a device that allows you ha have a wired connection between the router and the x-box (or anything else) by using the house mains wiring.

      No lag or wireless interference.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION