Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

    This is a discussion on Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi, I've just bought a Draytek Vigor 2700G to replace my Sagem F@ST router as I want to allow Wake ...

    1. #1
      The Rogue Wolf's Avatar
      The Rogue Wolf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

      Hi,

      I've just bought a Draytek Vigor 2700G to replace my Sagem F@ST router as I want to allow Wake on Lan over the web and a few other funky things not possible with the Sagem.

      I've managed to get my username and password from the Sagem and have entered the following details on the Draytek:

      VPI: 0
      VCI: 38
      Protocal: PPPoA
      Encapsulation: VCMux
      Authentication: PAP or CHAP
      Modulation: Multimode
      MAC Address: Sagem MAC Address
      ISP: SKY
      User Name: macaddress@skydsl
      Password: password from Sagem

      After connecting the router to the ADSL line it connected with no apparent problems and I was able to browse the 'net.

      However, after about 15 minutes I could no longer access web pages and a ping test to Google showed that the router was dropping packets seemingly at random.

      Could someone have a look at the settings above and let me know if they appear correct and also let me know if they have any thoughts on the dropped packets?

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

      this thread may offer you some help
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...tions-faq.html

    4. #3
      The Rogue Wolf's Avatar
      The Rogue Wolf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

      Hi Joss, thanks for the reply. Unfortunately I have already had a look through that post and can't find anything that might point me towards a solution

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

      If you plug the Sky router back in does it stop dropping?

    6. #5
      The Rogue Wolf's Avatar
      The Rogue Wolf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      If you plug the Sky router back in does it stop dropping?
      It sure does.

    7. #6
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

      What MTU value do you have set ? Remember there are 2 values. Router and your computer. Set router to default of 1500 and your computer the same.
      DrTCp is the program to set your PC MTU. Its a starting point to work through and eliminate possible reasons for packet loss.

      I set my DG834GT running TeamDG firm wear up last week as my back up router to the Sagem. Did not encounter any problems with the default values.

      Also worth a check is UDP packet filtering in your router. Disable it initially to see if that is a possible cause.

      Its just a matter working through various things.

    8. #7
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

      just a quick thought

      VPI: 0
      VCI: 38
      Protocal: PPPoA
      Encapsulation: VCMux
      Authentication: PAP or CHAP
      Modulation: Multimode
      MAC Address: Sagem MAC Address ????? Mac address of your vigor
      ISP: SKY
      User Name: macaddress@skydsl
      Password: password from Sagem

    9. #8
      The Rogue Wolf's Avatar
      The Rogue Wolf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

      Set router to default of 1500 and your computer the same.
      DrTCp is the program to set your PC MTU.
      I have Telnet'd to the router and changed the MTU to 1500 (it is set to 1492 by default on Draytek routers). Unfortunately this didn't seem to make any difference. I don't think I need to change the PC MTU because it works fine with the Sky router and Vista dynamically alters the MTU as necessary doesn't it?

      MAC Address: Sagem MAC Address ????? Mac address of your vigor
      I changed the MAC address on the Vigor to match the LAN MAC of the Sagem. I have tried using the default MAC on the Vigor but that doesn't help either.

      Also worth a check is UDP packet filtering in your router.
      I've tried completely disabling the firewall on the Vigor, still no joy.

      Just for reference, I've tried using a wireless laptop and a 'hard-wired' desktop and this doesn't affect the problem either.

      Thanks very much for your help so far, any more suggestions would be welcome

    10. #9
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

      Scratches head. Hummmm
      When I did my DG834GT it just worked after putting in the correct user details from my sagem router.
      You say you got connected ok so one can assume you used the correct extracted details from the sagem.
      James the very nice chap who worked out how to get your user name and password form the sagem would say in his experience 99.0% of the time its putting in the wrong user name and password that causes problems.

      Hang on in there. I am sure it will be something really trivial that's causing this.

    11. #10
      The Rogue Wolf's Avatar
      The Rogue Wolf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2700G Replacement Router Dropping Packets

      Those are my thoughts exactly. I would have thought that if I'd got any of the connection details wrong I wouldn't get a connection at all. As it is I get a good connection with no dropped packets for about 5 minutes then the packets start dropping more and more after that.

      It's really frustrating

      I'm beginning to wonder if it's a problem with the router itself, overheating perhaps.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION