Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    A little assistance required - Wireless Router

    This is a discussion on A little assistance required - Wireless Router within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hello there, i am new to this and a bit of a novice so please be patient. My brother has ...

    1. #1
      davieboy1873's Avatar
      davieboy1873 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carluke
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Carluke
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      A little assistance required - Wireless Router

      Hello there, i am new to this and a bit of a novice so please be patient.

      My brother has talk talk ADSL broadband. He currently connects his PS3 wirelessly via a modem connected to a netgear wireless access point (WG602v3). His current settings give him a NAT type 3. He needs to get NAT type 2 but can not seem to change this (login problems to the access point).

      I have a spare netgear DG934G wireless router (my old sky broadband router) spare as i am now with O2. How would we go about getting rid of his moden and access point and replace with my spare router.

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: A little assistance required - Wireless Router

      You will have to flash the old Sky router to standard firmware and put in the connection details supplied be TalkTalk. This thread may give you some idea of what is required - http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...-firmware.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      davieboy1873's Avatar
      davieboy1873 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carluke
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      Carluke
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: A little assistance required - Wireless Router

      Ok, i am in a bit deeper than i thought.

      let me prove how much of a novice i really am with the following questions.

      Is it possible for me to flash the DG934G router from my premises, i.e do i need a broadband connection. At the moment i am with o2 with their wireless II box. would i unplug that and plug in my old router? Surely if i connect my old router to my phone line i will lose my online connection.

      ok, stop laughing guys, i am a heating engineer and don't understand stuff that doesn't contain water

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: A little assistance required - Wireless Router

      When you are flashing the router it must be disconnected from the internet. Just power it up and plug it into the PC.

      You need this firmware - Answer

      Remember when you are logging into the router the user name is admin and the password sky. After you have flashed the user name is admin, and the password is password.
      Last edited by Isitme; 15-05-09 at 01:24 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION