Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Hi....... Gigabit ethernet?

    This is a discussion on Hi....... Gigabit ethernet? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi i was wondering if there is any way to legitamately get sky to send me a router with built ...

    1. #1
      bigmike20vt's Avatar
      bigmike20vt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01440
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk Fibre
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Hi....... Gigabit ethernet?

      Hi

      i was wondering if there is any way to legitamately get sky to send me a router with built in gigabit ethernet connection support?.

      i am plannign on putting a raided server in my attic with half a dozen 1TB harddisks and then routing through my wired network in my house to the main rooms.

      i currently do this using my sky router but would prefer gigabit ethernet.

      as sky do not condone using your own hardware any chance they will send me one as my moden router is pretty old now?

      cheers
      M.
      Fiat Coupe. Gone but not forgotten


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Hi....... Gigabit ethernet?

      In a word, no.

      There is nothing to stop you connecting a gigabit router to the Sky one to do what you want.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      bigmike20vt's Avatar
      bigmike20vt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01440
      Broadband ISP: Talk Talk Fibre
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Hi....... Gigabit ethernet?

      thanks, a bit of a faff but i will do that then i guess. shame tho as its 1 more box running 24/7

      cheers

      M.
      Fiat Coupe. Gone but not forgotten

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Hi....... Gigabit ethernet?

      as said, Sky won't send you a gigabit router as non of the Sky routers ARE gigabit ethernet...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Hi....... Gigabit ethernet?

      Quote Originally Posted by bigmike20vt View Post
      ........ i am plannign on putting a raided server in my attic with half a dozen 1TB harddisks and then routing through my wired network in my house to the main rooms.....
      Are you sure about that ? Attics are notoriously hot places in summer, and are often very dusty places too.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION