Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Sweex Router

    This is a discussion on Sweex Router within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Has anyone any experience with setting sky up on one of these? I'm a bit of a novice, so don't ...

    1. #1
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sweex Router

      Has anyone any experience with setting sky up on one of these?
      I'm a bit of a novice, so don't wish to flash my sky router, rather set up my old one instead. Not used it for a couple of years though so a bit rusty.

      Here's a screenshot, what am I doing wrong? What else do I need to do? Any assistance would be amazing.
      I got the username and password from this site https://www.cm9.net/skypass/ is this correct?



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      The most common reason for failure is the wrong username or password.
      The other settings you need are
      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI - 0
      VCI - 38
      Multiplexing: VC
      Check that these are correct.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      Thanks I have these three Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI - 0
      VCI - 38
      But can't see an option for multiplexing.
      Also, what password do I need? There seems to be a few

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      The username and password are the ones you obtained from the CM9 site. If the information is not put in correctly, the result will be incorrect. Try inputting it again, copy and pasting to and from the site is best as it reduces the chance of errors.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      Thanks, I copied and pasted directly from the site.
      Managed to track down the instructions for the router, but still doesn't shed any light on what I'm missing
      http://www.sweex.com/documents/MO250...50_man_eng.pdf

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      I am sorry I can't think of anything else. You are saving the changes you make and confirming them if you have to?
      Is your modem trying to connect to the exchange? ie is the ADSL light blinking or lit?
      I meant to say in my last post, your multiplexing is OK, it is shown in your router set up with the ticked VC against Encapsulation.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      Thanks isitme, yep ADSL shows constant light. It's really frustrating!
      It says Authentication Failed in the reason for not connecting.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      Authentication Failed
      I am pretty sure this means your username or password is being rejected.

      I am thinking on all possibilities so just to check, your Profile says you have a DG834GT but in one of your previous posts you said you had a black Netgear, which is the DG934G. Are you obtaining the details from CM9 for the correct one?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      Hi, it is the black netgear, my profile just like me is flawed.
      Would this be the right place to get my password?

      Thanks

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      As long as you entered the details correctly, you should have got the correct information. You could try it again, the router serial number is long and complicated so be sure to enter this exactly as shown on the router label. As the application says, if you enter the wrong information you will get the wrong result, with no error warning.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION