Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Sweex Router

    This is a discussion on Sweex Router within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hold the phone, is the router serial number different from the mac number? There were two numbers on the router, ...

    1. #11
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      Hold the phone, is the router serial number different from the mac number? There were two numbers on the router, I put the mac number in...?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      The router serial is printed on the label on the router. I don't think it is anywhere else.

      You need both of them for the DG934G

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      Ahh OK, so when using that website, I need to put both in?
      I could well have chosen the wrong ruddy router to start with.
      I will try when I get home and see what happens.
      I have renewed hope though.

    5. #14
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      Well, firstly it turns out that I had in fact clicked on the wrong router. So with that in mind, I excitedly entered the mac and serial number, I get the same user name but a different password.
      Updated the details in the modem, clicked connect and....

      Nothing

      I don't know what else to try, it's not even that important, but this challenge has to be won somehow

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      One final check, you are using the LAN MAC of the router, not the ADSL MAC?

      If you are, all I can suggest is that you reset the router and start again entering everything carefully. Remembering to Apply every change and Save all when finished.
      "The Reset button is located on the side of the modem. Use a thin item to press the button. Press and hold the button for 15 seconds. Note! After this, all settings which apply to your connection and network need to be reconfigured."

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      One final check, you are using the LAN MAC of the router, not the ADSL MAC?

      How would I know the difference? I'm reading this off the sky label which also contains the router serial

      If you are, all I can suggest is that you reset the router and start again entering everything carefully. Remembering to Apply every change and Save all when finished.
      "The Reset button is located on the side of the modem. Use a thin item to press the button. Press and hold the button for 15 seconds. Note! After this, all settings which apply to your connection and network need to be reconfigured."
      I'll give it a go, assume power needs to be on in order to do it?

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      If it is the same as the 834GT, then the MAC on the label is the LAN MAC.

      You will need the power lead in to reset the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sweex Router

      OK, I reset the router, eagerly reentered all of the information slowly and accurately. Still an authentication failure.
      Tonight I'm going to get Mrs G to read out each individual letter to me to ensure I'm not entering mac/serial incorrectly - though I've checked and rechecked about 10 times.
      Other than that, I think I'm going to have to concede this isn't going to happen. How frustrating.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION