Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL?

    This is a discussion on Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Originally Posted by Smithy99 Don't worry about connecting it to the phone line yet, connect the PC to the router ...

    1. #11
      Daleage's Avatar
      Daleage is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL?

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Don't worry about connecting it to the phone line yet, connect the PC to the router using the cable supplied, into one of the ethernet ports on the back of it, port 1 would be easiest.

      Are you sure you are typing in the correct address?
      192.168.1.1 is what i googled to be the default for linksys, also tried sky's 192.168.0.1 and no luck


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL?

      Try typing http://192.168.1.1 this sometimes works when the numbers alone don't.

      Where did you get the router, new or used? If it was used it may have had the default address changed. If so, try resetting it by pushing in the reset button for about 10 secs. Doing this might help even if it was brand new.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Daleage's Avatar
      Daleage is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL?

      I bought it brand new and sealed from overclockers UK

      I will try what you recommended

      Thanks

    5. #14
      Daleage's Avatar
      Daleage is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL?

      I tried to access the Linksys setting page just by plugging the Ethernet cable into the PC and port 1 of the router, No luck, Even trying with the HTTP:// in front of the address.

      I then did as you said and reset the router via the button at the back. Tried accesing the router settings page again but no go.

      Is there any way to check whether my PC is even recognizing this new router? I'm running windows vista.

      Thanks again

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL?

      You should see an icon in the tray, which should be 'Local Connection only'

      You can also try an ipconfig, Press Windows key type com right click the command icon and select 'Run as Administrator' At the Prompt type ipconfig /all press enter. Copy and paste here if you are unsure of the result.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      Daleage's Avatar
      Daleage is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL?

      Results of ipconifg:

      Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
      Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

      C:\Windows\system32>ipconfig/all

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hendersons-PC
      Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-11-7F-A1-48
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::34fe:49ae:490d:4f79%8(Preferred)
      IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.66(Preferred)
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99
      NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

      Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

      Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{43984C5F-11F4-4470-87DF-E2FC8B7C1
      0ED}
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
      DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.0.66%12(Preferred)
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
      DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99
      NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

      C:\Windows\system32>

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL?

      That looks like the details for the Sky router and it is showing as connected to the internet. Did you plug the new router into the ethernet port of the PC. If you have more than one port, unplug the Sky router and try again.

      I am a bit puzzled as to why the PC has a reserved address of 192.168.0.66, but leave that for later,

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      Daleage's Avatar
      Daleage is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL?

      Yep, I removed power from the Netgear Router, Powered up the Linksys Router and plugged the Ethernet cable into the back of the PC & Linksys Router.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Replacing DG834GT with Linksys WRT54GL?

      Try rebooting your PC with the Linksys plugged in then do ipconfig /all. There are other ways, but that is the easiest to explain.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION