Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 54

    Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

    This is a discussion on Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it? within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I can't quite follow what you mean in the last part of your post. I think you should go back ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

      I can't quite follow what you mean in the last part of your post. I think you should go back to basics and read Vishal's tutorial which you will find here -
      Flashing your Sky Router firmware

      At graphic No 6, you must substitute the decoy file with the proper file before you click next. Remember in addition to Vishal's instructions you must Run as Administrator for .exes or you are likely to blue screen.(On reflection you should simply remove the DG834PN image file to another location, then put the DG834GT image file, which you have renamed firmware.img in its place. Don't delete it as it would mean if you fail you would have to download it again.)

      Are you are getting corrupted graphics at any stage of the process? If you are try installing a virtual adapter, which has been known to get round this, Details here -
      How to install the Microsoft Loopback adapter in Windows XP
      If you are not getting corrupted graphics, do not install this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      RHP485's Avatar
      RHP485 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Stanley
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

      Hi Skypaulusplus

      Yes. I don't know why I cannot do it as, with your help and Isitme, I have tried everything. I will understand if you have given up the chase and cannot think of anything new for me to try!
      Thanks. Robert.

    4. #13
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

      ok, is it the white one?
      we will go through step by step

    5. #14
      RHP485's Avatar
      RHP485 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Stanley
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

      Yes it is the white one.

    6. #15
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

      are you the admin?

    7. #16
      RHP485's Avatar
      RHP485 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Stanley
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

      Hi Isitme

      I get all the way to the point in Vishal's instructions when I select the network card but after selecting the next button I always get the same message 'could not get system information correctly. Please exit upgrade facility and run RmDrv.exe before running Upgrade utility again' . I cannot get any further than that and I don't get any corrupt graphics. I have not tried installing a virtual adapter as you suggest because I don't know what will happen if anything goes wrong!
      Robert.

    8. #17
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

      ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/DG834V3_V4.01.40.zip
      ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/dg...ry_utility.zip
      d/l and unzip both files place in a new folder on the desktop called NETGEAR

    9. #18
      RHP485's Avatar
      RHP485 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Stanley
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

      skypaulusplus

      Sorry I am caught in between both of you at the moment who are trying to be very helpful with my problem.
      Yes I am and have run both the .exes in admin mode.
      Robert.

    10. #19
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

      rightclick rmdrv.exe and upgrade utility choose xp sp2 compatability, and run as admin
      click ok
      run rmdrv.exe
      leave open
      run upgradeutility
      screenshot the network card screen and attach

    11. #20
      RHP485's Avatar
      RHP485 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      Stanley
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Trying to flash a DG834GT router - using Vista anyone done it?

      Skypaulusplus

      I have download the files to my new netgear folder.
      Robert.

     

     
    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION