Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    bt hubs

    This is a discussion on bt hubs within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; is it possible to use 2 routers on the adsl line....1 in bedroom and 1 in livingroom...i do have 2 ...

    1. #1
      ashey4781's Avatar
      ashey4781 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      bt hubs

      is it possible to use 2 routers on the adsl line....1 in bedroom and 1 in livingroom...i do have 2 bt hubs that are locked to bt...would i be able to use these? ....i know they are against the rules...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: bt hubs

      You cannot connect 2 routers to the one ADSL connection.

      It may be possible to use a BT hub as a secondary router connected to the Sky router, but it depends on how well it is locked down.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      ashey4781's Avatar
      ashey4781 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: bt hubs

      yep i didnt think i could have 2.....i assume the bt hub will be locked and i would have to reflash it....

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: bt hubs

      I have not really looked into it but I understand the older Hubs can be hacked, but the newer ones are a bit more secure'. You would have to get the model number for it and ggogle for a fix.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: bt hubs

      Is this a version 1, 1.5 or 2 Hub?

      V2 (curvy) hubs are easy to network. V1 or 1.5 not so easy! I used a V2 one as a wireless access point and an ethernet switch for a while!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION