Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Help needed to sort out dg834gt

    This is a discussion on Help needed to sort out dg834gt within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and been reading posted this section.very useful information. my problem ; I ...

    1. #1
      banny07's Avatar
      banny07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford,Essex
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help needed to sort out dg834gt

      Hello everyone,
      I am new to this forum and been reading posted this section.very useful information. my problem ; I got Netgear DG834GT modem which was used for Sky for 20 months ,contract finished with Sky but now i want to use it on aol broadband (aol claim not to support them). could you please guide me to wipe out embeded sky info. I dont know how to put img file in directory.I need tutorials on reflashing the router as a "retail" . Please help me out. thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Help needed to sort out dg834gt

      Hi, welcome to SkyUser.

      Yes you can use it on other broadband services. You need to flash the generic Netgear firmware first. This explains how: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/extra...-password.html.

      hth
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    4. #3
      banny07's Avatar
      banny07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford,Essex
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help needed to sort out dg834gt

      hi mossyell, I have already done that up to FINISH but somehow device still shows old version of firmware. Setting screen does not show option for BASIC setting option. even log in screen does not show up (password is saved). any other tips.........? please help.........
      regards.
      banny

    5. #4
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: Help needed to sort out dg834gt

      Try following these instrutions

    6. #5
      banny07's Avatar
      banny07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford,Essex
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help needed to sort out dg834gt

      hi moleman.
      I will try it tomorrow and let you how it goes. thanks.
      regards
      banny

    7. #6
      banny07's Avatar
      banny07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford,Essex
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help needed to sort out dg834gt

      hi there, It did not work for me.when i run RmDrv (no .exe? is it normal?),onlythese three line appear. (is it normal?)
      Removing first service Control Entries
      Removing second Service Control Entries
      program execute finish. press any key to exit (i did that)
      when i open/run (double click) upgradeWizard (double click).message appears
      This Utility will upgrade...........your device...next. four adapter card list appears,,,,,,,,,,i highlight SiS 900-based PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter..........next
      A MESSAGE APPEARS::
      COULD NOT GET SYSTEM INFORMATION CORRECTLY.PLEASE EXIT UPGRADE UTILITY AND EXECUTE RmDrv.exe which located in the same directory with Upgrade Utility then run Upgrade Utility again.
      I tried 4-5 time but same result. has anyone got idea where i done something wrong? any tips on running RmDrv please.thanks
      regards
      banny.

    8. #7
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: Help needed to sort out dg834gt

      If I run the upgrade utility I get 9 network adapters listed (I'm forever trying different wireless adapters), and if I select any that are not present at the time I get the same message.

      If you are sure you are selecting the correct adapter then you may need to try a different PC as the upgrade utility appears very fussy about what hardware it will work with.

    9. #8
      banny07's Avatar
      banny07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford,Essex
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help needed to sort out dg834gt

      hi moleman, apart from above mentioned adapter card there three more adapter.all three got same name: ZyXEL G-202 wireless USB Adapter .I tried all four but got same message. any idea what else could be wrong?
      regards
      banny

    10. #9
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: Help needed to sort out dg834gt

      I suspect some bit of software is running on the network port and is stopping the UpgradeWizard connecting to it. Unfortunately I have no idea what that may be.

      Do you know anyone with a laptop you could try it on, or possibly take the router to a friends house and run it on their PC?

    11. #10
      banny07's Avatar
      banny07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford,Essex
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help needed to sort out dg834gt

      hi. I got laptop too. on laptop it shows above four adapter but on desktop it shows only one adapter totally different from those four. any tips please.
      regards

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION