Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Rabbit + Power wire = BAD!!!

    This is a discussion on Rabbit + Power wire = BAD!!! within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I have the Sagem router, and recently the rabbit I was looking after chewed through the wire. My quick fix ...

    1. #1
      lauraislost's Avatar
      lauraislost is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Rabbit + Power wire = BAD!!!

      I have the Sagem router, and recently the rabbit I was looking after chewed through the wire. My quick fix solution (since I can't live without internet ), was to strip the wires and twist them together until I could find a replacement - not a great idea.

      Unfortunately, I'm having some trouble finding a replacement (even on ebay). Can anyone help? Does anyone know where I could find one?

      Thank you.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Rabbit + Power wire = BAD!!!

      ask Sky for one perhaps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Rabbit + Power wire = BAD!!!

      Sky would have to send out the entire package to ensure a power supply went out so call them up and make sure they do not send out a router only replacement.

    5. #4
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rabbit + Power wire = BAD!!!

      Any electrical or hardware store should have packets of block connector strips which are a safe way of connecting bare wires very easily.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Rabbit + Power wire = BAD!!!

      I have found the Sunday morning boot sale a good source for items like this also charity shops often have a bin with bits and pieces where you might be lucky. Maplins also stock a good selection if you have a local shop (postage makes online expensive).

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Rabbit + Power wire = BAD!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by lauraislost View Post
      I have the Sagem router, and recently the rabbit I was looking after chewed through the wire. My quick fix solution (since I can't live without internet ), was to strip the wires and twist them together until I could find a replacement - not a great idea.

      Unfortunately, I'm having some trouble finding a replacement (even on ebay). Can anyone help? Does anyone know where I could find one?

      Thank you.
      Sorry, not seen the Sagem router, does the power supply plug directly into the mains or does it have a lead to a block and out again?

      If it's the mains side, use a couple of chock blocks as suggested above and them tape them up with PVC tape, you will have no problems with it from there, either that or you could just fit a new mains plug at the point where the rabbit chewed it.

      Same thing if it's after the mains block (in the thinner cable) just use a Chock Block and tape it up, make sure that you keep the wires connected in the correct orderm one usually has a white line running up it, they only cost a few pence and you can get them from just about anywhere.

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Rabbit + Power wire = BAD!!!

      I also havnt seen the sagem router but :-

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      If it's the mains side, use a couple of chock blocks as suggested above and them tape them up with PVC tape, you will have no problems with it from there, either that or you could just fit a new mains plug at the point where the rabbit chewed it.
      If it is the mains side, then I feel sorry for the rabbit. However I dont recommend the choc blok and tape solution, much safer to redo the plug at the point where the rabbit chewd it.

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Same thing if it's after the mains block (in the thinner cable) just use a Chock Block and tape it up, make sure that you keep the wires connected in the correct orderm one usually has a white line running up it, they only cost a few pence and you can get them from just about anywhere.
      No problem with this side as its low voltage.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION