Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

suspicious open ports (By default) on my new sagem f@st 2504 Sky router

This is a discussion on suspicious open ports (By default) on my new sagem f@st 2504 Sky router within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hey all. This is my first time to post a thread, so I hope I'm going about it the right ...

mark.h is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

suspicious open ports (By default) on my new sagem f@st 2504 Sky router

Hey all.
      This is my first time to post a thread, so I hope I'm going about it the right way??

I have been with sky about a month now and I have noticed that by default I have open ports on my sagem f@st 2504 router. I'm also not sure whether it is a good idea to list these open ports on this forum?? and these seem to be open by default.???
      I would like to know if this is indeed a security issue??
      I am using ubuntu hardy 8.04 O/S and firestarter as my firewall. So I know all my ports are closed on my actual PC. But when I use sheildsUp by GRC to scan all open ports (including router) This is the output it gave me:::

Ping Reply: RECEIVED (FAILED) Your system REPLIED to our Ping (ICMP Echo) requests, making it visible on the Internet. Most personal firewalls can be configured to block, drop, and ignore such ping requests in order to better hide systems from hackers. This is highly recommended since "Ping" is among the oldest and most common methods used to locate systems prior to further exploitation.

After I looked into this I found that it was my router that was accepting the PING requests.
      I would also like to know why are these ports open and who these ports are open too.