Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    unable to extract PPPoA details

    This is a discussion on unable to extract PPPoA details within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; yup i clicked on your click, the only thing that worked there was if a clicked on detailed stats the ...

    1. #11
      superted's Avatar
      superted is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unable to extract PPPoA details

      yup i clicked on your click, the only thing that worked there was if a clicked on detailed stats the enable telnet lin didn't do much.

      tired to click on the link you just gave me, it ask's me a username and pwd, which i enter admin and sky, and it takes me the router config page


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: unable to extract PPPoA details

      Yup thats right. Telnet has been enabled. Now on your computer >>START>RUN>CMD>telnet 192.168.0.1 and enter the code i gave you.

    4. #13
      superted's Avatar
      superted is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unable to extract PPPoA details

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      try this

      enable telnet from

      Mel's Notes: Dg834gt-1skuk

      Then start>CMD>telnet 192.168.0.1

      and type in

      cat /tmp/nvram | grep pppoa_

      ok, when i type in telnet 192.168.0.1 the cmd prompt box appears, which is fine, but its asking for a username and pwd?? which i don't know!

      or am i meant to type in cat /tmp/nvram | grep pppoa_ somewhere else??

      sorry!

    5. #14
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: unable to extract PPPoA details

      Ok the user name and password is the same user name and password you use to log into the router. Once logged in type in the commands. BTW you are on the latest FW right V1.03.87.

    6. #15
      superted's Avatar
      superted is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unable to extract PPPoA details

      yup thats the firmware im using on the router, does that mean it won't work??

    7. #16
      superted's Avatar
      superted is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unable to extract PPPoA details

      username: admin pwd: sky doesn't work seems to be blocked out somewhere

      although the same username and pwd work to allow me access to the router config page, even reset the router loads of times

    8. #17
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: unable to extract PPPoA details

      I still don't understand why you cant use this?

      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/generate.cgi

      chose DG834GT router and fill in the fields. Also when you enter the MAC address in there make sure you enter it with out the ;. So 001AFCD etc. Not like 00:1A:F:CD.

    9. #18
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: unable to extract PPPoA details

      Quote Originally Posted by superted View Post
      ive tired Jame's website, but its still not finding the username and pwd
      What does his mean? The generator definately works, but perhaps you are inputting the Default WPA network key incorrectly. To quote James:

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      The WPA password supplied by Sky always consists of 8 capital letters, no digits and no lower-case letters. So if you think you've got a zero in there, it's actually a capital letter 'O', if you think you've got a one, then it's actually a capital letter 'I'.

    10. #19
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: unable to extract PPPoA details

      As a last resort flash this firmware on. Then in the router page look for extras on the left hand side and click on "Get credentials"

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...tml#post142601

    11. #20
      superted's Avatar
      superted is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unable to extract PPPoA details

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      I still don't understand why you cant use this?

      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/generate.cgi

      chose DG834GT router and fill in the fields. Also when you enter the MAC address in there make sure you enter it with out the ;. So 001AFCD etc. Not like 00:1A:F:CD.
      no joy, just reset it again, and entered the MAC address that is on the sticker at the bottom of the sky router, and then to get the default WPA key i just copied and pasted what ever was in the wiress settings> wpa encryption key on the router config page

      its driving me crazy, i thought a simple task of swapping the old for the new router would do the trick, but not

      any ideas?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION