Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Interchangeable routers

    This is a discussion on Interchangeable routers within the Asking for help forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; I have the DG834GT which works really well and have already extracted my user name and password. I'm a bit ...

    1. #1
      ukdave's Avatar
      ukdave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Interchangeable routers

      I have the DG834GT which works really well and have already extracted my user name and password. I'm a bit concerned about getting my server up and running again quickly should the router break and don't want to be left depending on Sky's technical support. My question is, can I purchase an identicle router but not originating from sky and use my previously extracted user & pass words to connect?

      Also, I have noticed that there are routers the same as mine but originating from sky for sale on eBay. Is it possible in this instance to somehow transfer over my user & pass to one of these.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interchangeable routers

      any particular reason why you would want to do this?

      if the router fails sky should be able to replace it...

      also there isnt much point in getting an identical router, as it is the mac address that matters. it may be possible, however to get a router with mac address spoofing, but even then its detectable.

    4. #3
      ukdave's Avatar
      ukdave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interchangeable routers

      Yes the reason is written above. So it can't be done then.

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

    6. #5
      ukdave's Avatar
      ukdave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interchangeable routers

      I don't know what I'm supposed to be looking for. Like I say, I already have the password and user, can't I just put that into another router?

    7. #6
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interchangeable routers

      Quote Originally Posted by ukdave View Post
      I don't know what I'm supposed to be looking for. Like I say, I already have the password and user, can't I just put that into another router?
      Yes. You shouldn't. But you can.
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Interchangeable routers

      ^^^^ as said you shouldn't - but its good insurance to have the backup if you need it.


    9. #8
      ukdave's Avatar
      ukdave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Interchangeable routers

      I've got a lot of websites, I know I shouldn't but I have.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION